Millwall release eight

Loading Market ...

Football Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Millwall have axed eight players as they attempt to bounce straight back up to The Championship next year.

Strikers Carl Asaba and Joe Healy, midfielder Carlos Fangueiro, attacking midfielders Sammy Igoe, Trevor Robinson and Curtis Weston, goalkeeper Andy Marshall and Canadian international Josh Simpson have all been released from The Den.

But last season's top scorer Ben May and defender Mark Phillips have signed new deals.

Negotiations with former Leeds United and Chelsea midfielder Jody Morris roll on, but The Lions are hopeful they can hold onto the pivotal player.

Morris may well be waiting to find out who the club appoint as the new manager after David Tuttle's departure from the club.

The Lions have fallen from grace since Dennis Wise and Ray Wilkins led them to the FA Cup final in 2004.

They will need to prove they are heading in the right direction again to attract new players to the club and rise again from the third tier of English football.