Select a Team

Sky Bet Championship

Oakwell Stadium (ATT 19,002) 8th November 2008 - Kick off 15:00 Ref: A D'Urso

Barnsley Barnsley vs Sheffield United Sheff Utd

Beattie brace sinks Tykes

United victorious in explosive Yorkshire derby

Last Updated: 08/11/08 5:48pm

  • Share:
Beattie: At the double

Beattie: At the double

James Beattie struck a brace as Sheffield United downed Barnsley 2-1 in a fiery Yorkshire derby at Oakwell.

Striker Beattie netted in both halves to clinch the success after Ugo Ehiogu and Anderson De Silva were sent off for a clash in the first half.

The Blades sit in an encouraging fourth position in the Championship table, while Barnsley lie three points above the relegation places.

The victory stretched United's unbeaten run in the league to five matches and halted Barnsley's mini-revival, while Tykes manager Simon Davey finished up in the stands following words with Andy D'Urso over the referee's handling of the penalty decision.

New loan signing from Preston Simon Whaley went straight into Barnsley's starting line-up for the injured Jon Macken (hamstring) and Bobby Hassell stepped up for suspended captain Stephen Foster.

Brian Howard, on loan from Sheffield United with a view to a permanent move in January, was ineligible, while the Blades were unchanged from the side that beat Plymouth last week.


Barnsley were first to threaten after eight minutes of sparring when Martin Devaney warmed United goalkeeper Paddy Kenny's hands at the end of a flowing move.

Hassell's last-ditch header at the far post snuffed out the visitors' first chance before Kevin Blackwell's side broke the deadlock in the 20th minute.

Webber turned Dennis Souza inside out on the right side of the penalty area and crossed for Beattie to stab the ball home at the far post.

Beattie almost made it 2-0 moments later, but his left-footed drive was turned away by Tykes goalkeeper Heinz Muller.

Devaney headed inches wide at the other end following Moore's long throw-in.

Ehiogu and De Silva were given their marching orders after a spiteful exchange ended with both players leaning in headfirst.

Barnsley went close to equalising through two rasping shots from Hugo Colace, but the visitors held on until the interval.

Rob Kozluk was denied an equaliser for Barnsley soon after the restart after a neat one-two with substitute Miguel Mostto, but the on-rushing Kenny smothered his shot.

Kenny comfortably collected Devaney's header as Barnsley probed for an opening and home appeals for a penalty after Moore went down under Chris Morgan's 63rd-minute challenge were waved away by referee D'Urso.

Jamal Campbell-Ryce blazed over the crossbar for the hosts and then with little over 20 minutes left Tykes manager Simon Davey sent on big striker Kayode Odejayi for full-back Hassell.


Whaley let fly from 35 yards and was inches wide and Spring rifled over for the Blades as the game ebbed and flowed.

United midfielder Stephen Quinn tripped when poised to seal the points six yards from goal.

Moments later Barnsley defender Kozluk appeared to use his arm in the area and while referee D'Urso failed to spot it, he belatedly consulted his assistant and awarded the visitors a penalty.

Furious Tykes boss Davey was then sent to the stands, as Beattie dispatched, and within two minutes Barnsley hauled one back when Odejayi headed home Whaley's cross from six yards.

Barnsley poured forward in the closing stages, but the Blades still threatened on the counter-attack and held on to clinch their third away win of the season.

  • Share:



Sky Bet Championship

Sky Bet Championship
Pos Team P Pts
1 Middlesbrough 35 66
2 Derby County 35 65
3 Watford 35 65
4 Bournemouth 35 63
5 Norwich City 35 62
6 Brentford 35 61
7 Ipswich Town 35 60
8 Wolverhampton Wanderers 35 57
9 Nottingham Forest 35 50
10 Blackburn Rovers 35 48
11 Sheffield Wednesday 35 46
12 Charlton Athletic 35 45
13 Birmingham City 35 45
14 Cardiff City 35 44
15 Leeds United 35 44
16 Huddersfield Town 35 42
17 Bolton Wanderers 35 41
18 Reading 35 41
19 Brighton and Hove Albion 35 40
20 Fulham 35 39
21 Rotherham United 35 37
22 Wigan Athletic 35 31
23 Millwall 35 31
24 Blackpool 35 22