PDC World Darts Championship: James Wade comes from 3-0 down to beat Andy Smith

Last Updated: 24/12/13 8:39am

  • Share:
James Wade: Came back from the brink again

James Wade: Came back from the brink again

Sky Bet

Sixth seed James Wade dodged more bullets before beating Andy Smith 4-3 in the last 32 of the PDC World Darts Championship.

Smith was first into his stride, taking the first set despite a miscount and then adding the second, aided by a 161 checkout in the fourth leg.

'The Pieman' made it 3-0 after Wade missed his favourite double 10 and it looked as if the three-time semi-finalist was on his way.

Finally, Wade found some rhythm and with Smith struggling under the hot Alexandra Palace lights, he reeled of three straight sets to tie the contest at 3-3 and force a decider.

Smith had a golden chance to seal victory when he had two darts at double 16 for the match but they both stayed out and Wade took the leg to edge ahead for the first time in the contest.

Throwing first in the sixth, he kept his nose in front and then checked out on 100 to seal a dramatic victory.

Wade, who had survived six match darts in the previous round against Darren Webster, said: "I don't know if that was lucky or if that was sheer grit.

"All I thought was make a game of it, try not to embarrass yourself in front of your local people and somehow I've come out winning."

Asked if he felt it could be his year after a second great escape, Wade said: "It could be anyone's year, I don't believe in any of that rubbish!"

Lewis goes through

There was no such trouble for two-time world champion Adrian Lewis, who produced some superb darts to beat Dutchman Vincent van der Voort 4-1.

Lewis, the winner of this event in 2011 and 2012, produced a 146 checkout to win the first set 3-2 and went two sets up despite van der Voort averaging over 100 in the second.

Van der Voort was rewarded for some impressive darts by winning the third set but Lewis blazed through the fourth to take a 3-1 lead.

Lewis ended a high-quality contest by checking out on 85 to win the fifth set 3-1. Overall he averaged 103.68 and hit nine maximums while van der Voort averaged 99.47, hitting five.

"He played fantastic darts. I think anyone else he would have beat," said Lewis, who now plays Mervyn King in the last 16.

"I hit the right shots at the right time, kept him under pressure. I've won it twice before so it's been there and done that."

King, who reached the semi-finals in 2009, showed his extra experience to see off young Ricky Evans 4-2.

Evans, who lived up to his nickname of 'Rapid', peppered the treble 20 in quickfire bursts and hit nine 180s in the match.

But despite Evans hitting back to tie the match at 1-1 and 2-2, King's mix of 140s and solid finishing helped him pull clear.

King took the fifth set to edge ahead 3-2 and then closed out victory by hitting double 13 in the sixth.

Afterwards, King paid tribute to his 23-year-old rival, saying: "He's such an unpredictable player but you expect it from him. He's getting better all the time."

The players now put away their darts and enjoy some turkey and mince pies until the tournament resumes at 12.30pm on December 27 with the final match of the second round, Justin Pipe against Devon Petersen.

  • Share:


PDC World Darts Championship 2014

Michael van Gerwen: PDC's player of the year

Van Gerwen tops in PDC vote

Michael van Gerwen scooped an awards treble as he was named as the PDC player of the year at The Dorchester on Monday.

The now famous walk-on girls are always a fans favourite at at Alexandra Palace

Best of the darts

Check out the best pictures from the darts at Ally Pally, can you spot yourself in the crowd?

Michael Van Gerwen crowned world champion

World darts review

We take a look back at the pick of the action, and major talking points, from the World Darts Championship.

Most Popular


Ready to relaunch

Ready to relaunch

Mike Wedderburn kicks off the countdown to the Sky Sports News relaunch to Sky Sports News HQ.

As it happened

As it happened

Re-live the World Matchplay Darts Final between Phil Taylor and Michael van Gerwen as it happened.

Matchplay moments

Matchplay moments

Check out all the best bits from this year's tournament in Blackpool as Phil Taylor triumphed again.