Adrian Lewis to begin defence of PDC World crown against Gino Vos

Last Updated: 04/12/12 4:52pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

Adrian Lewis will begin the defence of his PDC World Darts Championship against Gino Vos, while Phil Taylor has been drawn against Michael Mansell.

Lewis, winner of the title in 2011 and 2012, will be going for a hat-trick of victories at London's Alexandra Palace between December 14 - January 1.

Taylor, the 13-time winner who beat outsider Kim Huybrechts to win the Cash Converters Players Championship Finals title on Sunday, will be a red-hot favourite to see off world number 57 Mansell.

2013 PDC World Championship Last 64 draw

(select matches) - Seedings in brackets

Wes Newton (6) v Johnny Haines
Raymond van Barneveld (13) v Michael Smith
Andy Hamilton (8) v James Richardson
Ronnie Baxter (18) v Dennis Priestley
Mervyn King (14) v Dean Winstanley
Justin Pipe (11) v Andy Jenkins
James Wade (3) v Peter Hudson
Phil Taylor (1) v Michael Mansell
Adrian Lewis (2) v Gino Vos

Number three seed James Wade will take on Peter Hudson, while Gary Anderson will face the winner of the preliminary match between Jarkko Komula and Jani Haavisto.

Australian Simon Whitlock tackles the winner of the Haruki Muramatsu and Dave Harrington preliminary match, while number six Wes Newton kicks off his tournament against Johnny Haines.

Raymond van Barneveld, the 2007 champion who defeated fellow Dutchman Michael van Gerwen to claim the Grand Slam of Darts last month, was drawn against Michael Smith.

Van Gerwen will face the winner of the preliminary clash between Paul Lim and Mohd Latif Sapup.

Two-time winner John Part, his last success coming in 2008 with a 7-2 win over Kirk Shepherd, faces Joe Cullen.

The tie of the round sees veteran Ronnie 'The Rocket' Baxter, a two-time quarter-finalist, go up against another legend of the game Dennis Priestley. The 62-year-old, who has been a runner up four times, beat Phil Taylor in 1994 to win the title.

Click here to see the full last 64 draw of the PDC World Championship.

  • Share:


2013 PDC World Darts Championship

Phil Taylor claims the Sid Waddell trophy

2013 remembered

We look back at a brilliant World Darts Championship and pick out our Ally Pally highlights.

The future of darts is in safe hands after Sky Sports agreed a new broadcast deal

Darting delight

Sky Sports has signed a new five-year broadcast deal with the Professional Darts Corporation.

Phil Taylor: won his 16th World title at Alexandra Palace in January

Sky extends PDC deal

Sky Sports has signed a new five-year broadcast deal with the Professional Darts Corporation.


Most Popular


Matchplay results

Matchplay results

The latest results from the 2014 World Matchplay darts at the Winter Gardens in Blackpool.

World Matchplay - R2

World Matchplay - R2

Take a look at our favourite images from the second round of the World Matchplay in Blackpool.

Power competition

Power competition

To celebrate the World Matchplay, win a set of Phil Taylor's darts - signed by the man himself.