The calendar for the 2013 Grand Prix series has been confirmed

Last Updated: 26/10/12 3:05pm

  • Share:
Western Springs Stadium: Host of the first Grand Prix again in 2013

Western Springs Stadium: Host of the first Grand Prix again in 2013

Sky Bet

The 2013 Speedway Grand Prix calendar has been confirmed with the series starting in New Zealand for the second-year in succession.

New Zealand staged its first ever Grand Prix this March, and the SGP series will be back in Auckland on March 23 next year before going on to a further nine countries over the 12-round series.

The penultimate event of the 2013 FIM Speedway Grand Prix series takes place under the roof of Stockholm's state-of-the-art Friends Arena, which makes its debut as an SGP venue on September 21.

Next year also sees legendary Polish track Bydgoszcz, Latvian venue Daugavpils and Slovenian circuit Krsko all return to the calendar.

The greatest show in speedway, the British FIM Speedway Grand Prix, takes place in Cardiff on June 1 and the series concludes at Torun's Marian Rose Motoarena in Poland on October 5.

BSI Speedway managing director Paul Bellamy is delighted to have assembled a tantalising mix of venues - old and new.

He said: "It's great to be returning to eight of our 2012 venues and we extend a special welcome to Bydgoszcz, Krsko and Daugavpils, who showed great hunger to get SGP racing back in their cities for 2013.

"It is also very exciting that we are taking a Grand Prix to a brand new stadium. The Friends Arena in Stockholm is a fantastic venue and the meeting on September 21 could decide the World Championship, so to stage our penultimate round in such a world-class facility is truly special.

"It's great to see the SGP title being contested across nine different countries and we're working hard all the time to expand into new territories.

"We look forward to seeing world champion Chris Holder defend his crown against the likes of Nicki Pedersen, Greg Hancock and Tomasz Gollob on 12 fantastic race tracks next year."

Following the first round in Auckland, SGP action returns to Europe on April 20, when the ZKS Polonia Stadium in Bydgoszcz stages the European FIM Speedway Grand Prix - the fabled venue's first SGP event since Tomasz Gollob lifted the World Championship there in October 2010.

Gothenburg's historic Ullevi Stadium is the next stop for the Swedish SGP on May 4, before Prague's Marketa Stadium stages the Czech SGP for the 17th season running on May 18.

The British SGP takes place at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff on June 1, before the series visits Polish track Gorzow on June 15 and Copenhagen's PARKEN for the Danish SGP on June 29.

The action then moves to Italian circuit Terenzano on August 3, before Daugavpils stages the first Latvian SGP since 2009 on August 17.

Krsko ends its own four-season exile from the competition on September 7 before the world's top riders visit the Friends Arena for the Scandinavian FIM Speedway Grand Prix two weeks later.

The series finale will be the Torun FIM Speedway Grand Prix of Poland on October 5.


March 23: New Zealand FIM Speedway Grand Prix - Auckland, New Zealand

April 20: European FIM Speedway Grand Prix - Bydgoszcz, Poland

May 4: Fogo Swedish FIM Speedway Grand Prix - Gothenburg, Sweden

May 18: Mitas Czech Republic FIM Speedway Grand Prix - Prague, Czech Republic

June 1: British FIM Speedway Grand Prix - Cardiff, Great Britain

June 15: Gorzow FIM Speedway Grand Prix of Poland - Gorzow, Poland

June 29: Danish FIM Speedway Grand Prix - Copenhagen, Denmark

August 3: Fogo Italian FIM Speedway Grand Prix - Terenzano, Italy

August 17: Latvian FIM Speedway Grand Prix - Daugavpils, Latvia

September 7: Slovenian FIM Speedway Grand Prix - Krsko, Slovenia

September 21: Scandinavian FIM Speedway Grand Prix - Stockholm, Sweden

October 5: Torun FIM Speedway Grand Prix of Poland - Torun, Poland

  • Share:

Most Popular


Sky Sports Open Day

Sky Sports Open Day

We're giving non-Sky Sports customers a day of world-class sport at no extra cost. Read more here...

Ready to relaunch

Ready to relaunch

Mike Wedderburn kicks off the countdown to the Sky Sports News relaunch to Sky Sports News HQ.

Exclusive Ticket deal

Exclusive Ticket deal

To celebrate the partnership between Sky Sports and British Speedway, Sky Tickets have an exclusive offer.