Exiles clear the decks

12 players move on

Last Updated: 05/07/12 5:22pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

    • Retrieving latest Sky Bet odds

Aviva Premiership hopefuls London Welsh have confirmed 12 players will leave the club.

The Exiles, who are appealing the decision to block their promotion to the Premiership despite winning the RFU Championship, are currently shaping their squad for next season.

However Tom French, Liam Gibson, Will Hurrell (Rotherham), Gary Johnson (Cornish Pirates), Vili Ma'asi, Saul Nelson (Old Reds), Shawn Pittman, Mike Powell (Moseley), Guillermo Roan, Ben Russell, Ben Stevenson and Edd Thrower have all been released.

"Rugby is the quintessential team game and because of the physical demands every club needs a squad of dedicated team players who can step up to the plate at any time," said London Welsh managing director John Taylor.

"We are particularly grateful to those who could not always hold down a place in the starting XV for their professionalism throughout the season, and we wish them well as they move on to pursue their careers elsewhere or go into retirement. They will always be a part of the London Welsh family."

  • Share: