France call up Michalak

Veteran stand-off recalled and nine newcomers named for tour

Last Updated: 31/05/12 12:20pm

  • Share:
Recalled: Frederic Michalak

Recalled: Frederic Michalak

Sky Bet

    • Retrieving latest Sky Bet odds

France coach Philippe Saint-André has called up nine new players and rested skipper Thierry Dusautoir for the June tour to Argentina.

There are five new caps in the forwards and four more in backs in the 28-man squad. Stade Français lock Pascal Papé will captain the side.

Props Antoine Guillamon (Lyon) and Yvan Watremez (Biarritz), Toulouse hooker Christopher Tolofua, Perpignan loose forward Romain Taofifenua and Toulon lock Christophe Samson are the new faces amongst the forwards.

In the backs, Agen scrum-half Maxime Machenaud, centres Geoffrey Doumayrou (Montpellier) and Romain Martial (Castres) and Agen wing Brice Dulin all get their first international call.

There are just seven players retained from the squad that made the World Cup final last year: Dimitri Szarzewski, Pascal Papé, Louis Picamoles, Fulgence Ouedraogo, Morgan Parra, François Trinh-Duc and Maxime Mermoz.

Veteran fly-half Frederic Michalak has been recalled following his fine form for Sharks in the Super Rugby competition.

France will face the Pumas in two Tests - in Cordoba on June 16 and in Tucuman on June 23.

Forwards: David Attoub (Stade Français), Vincent Debaty (Clermont), Antoine Guillamon (Lyon), Yvan Watremez (Biarritz), Christopher Tolofua (Toulouse), Dimitri Szarzewski (Stade Français), Yoan Maestri (Toulouse), Christophe Samson (Toulon), Pascal Pape (Stade Français) (capitain) Romain Taofifenua (Perpignan), Alexandre Lapandry (Clermont), Wenceslas Lauret (Biarritz), Fulgence Ouedraogo (Montpellier), Louis Picamoles (Toulouse), Raphael Lakafia (Biarritz).

Backs: Maxime Machenaud (Agen), Morgan Parra (Clermont), Frederic Michalak (Sharks), Francois Trinh-Duc (Montpellier), Geoffrey Doumayrou (Montpellier), Florian Fritz (Toulouse), Wesley Fofana (Clermont), Maxime Mermoz (Perpignan), Benjamin Fall (Racing Metro), Romain Martial (Castres), Yoann Huget (Bayonne), Jean Marcellin Buttin (Clermont), Brice Dulin (Agen).

  • Share: