Kiss wants drop goal review
Ireland assistant coach frustrated current rules favour the kicker
Last Updated: 20/06/12 6:24am
Dan Carter missed his first attempt at goal
Ireland assistant coach Les Kiss believes the IRB should look at a rule change concerning missed drop goals following his side's 22-19 defeat to New Zealand.
Kiss, who looks after the Irish backs, was unhappy that New Zealand fly-half Dan Carter was gifted a second chance to land the winning drop goal in the second Test in Christchurch.
Referee Nigel Owens awarded a five-metre scrum to the All Blacks after Carter's first attempt at a game-clincher was deflected wide then touched down by Eoin Reddan.
"If you go for a drop goal and miss then why should you get the ball back from a missed kick?" asked Kiss.
"That shouldn't have been their advantage. They went through it and missed it as we were good enough to stop it.
"It is like a tackle. If we tackled him there, trying to attempt a field goal, but we tackled him before it, we would get the ball back. But that doesn't happen. That's probably a law they could look at."
The Australian believes Ireland pressured the All Blacks consistently throughout in Christchurch and cut out the space that led to first Test woes against the likes of Julian Savea and Conrad Smith.
He said: "They played well but they couldn't break us. It was fantastic, what the boys did, but unfortunately you want to win and that is the taste that is left in your mouth."