Scotland coach Andy Robinson names seven uncapped players in his squad

Last Updated: 24/10/12 10:27am

  • Share:
Andy Robinson: Has named seven uncapped players in his squad

Andy Robinson: Has named seven uncapped players in his squad

Sky Bet

    • Retrieving latest Sky Bet odds

Andy Robinson has named seven uncapped players in his 34-man squad for the autumn internationals.

Scotland will take on world champions New Zealand on November 11 before facing South Africa six days later and Tonga on November 24.

And coach Robinson has handed Stuart McInally, Alex Dunbar, Peter Horne, Peter Murchie, Tommy Seymour, Henry Pyrgos and Grant Gilchrist their chances to impress.

Joe Ansbro, Ben Cairns, Chris Cusiter, Rory Lamont, Graeme Morrison, Nikki Walker, Duncan Weir, Alasdair Dickinson, Ed Kalman, Stevie Lawrie, Moray Low, Pat MacArthur and Jon Welsh miss out, though, through injury.

Robinson, who saw his side win all three of their summer Tests, said: "It's always an exciting time when the Scotland squad comes together ahead of the first Test match of the season.

"It's some four months since Scotland last played an international so when the squad reconvenes there'll be an element of renewing acquaintances and reigniting the spark and spirit that was such a key part of our success on our summer tour.

"New Zealand are formidable opponents. They do the basics exceptionally well and play with a pace and ruthlessness. It's no co-incidence that they are the best team in the world.

"We must look to build on the physical commitment of our players against Australia, Fiji and Samoa."

Scotland: Mike Blair (Brive), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Max Evans (Castres), Stuart Hogg, Peter Horne and Ruaridh Jackson (all Glasgow Warriors), Lee Jones, Greig Laidlaw (both Edinburgh), Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Lawson (Newcastle Falcons), Peter Murchie, Henry Pyrgos (both Glasgow Warriors), Matt Scott (Edinburgh), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Tim Visser (Edinburgh), John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Geoff Cross, David Denton, Ross Ford and Grant Gilchrist (all Edinburgh), Ryan Grant (Glasgow Warriors), Richie Gray (Sale Sharks), Dougie Hall (Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Lawson (London Irish), Stuart McInally and Ross Rennie (both Edinburgh), Tom Ryder (Glasgow Warriors), Alasdair Strokosch (Perpignan), Kyle Traynor (Bristol).

  • Share: