Sevens World Cup: England name formidable squad for competition in Moscow

Last Updated: 21/06/13 12:41pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

    • Retrieving latest Sky Bet odds

England Sevens coach Ben Ryan has named his 12-man squad ahead of next week's Rugby World Cup Sevens in Moscow.

Rob Vickerman will captain the side as Ryan names 11 of the players who featured in England's third-place finishes in the previous two rounds of the HSBC World Series.

The 27-year-old is joined by James Rodwell as the two survivors from the 2009 World Cup campaign in Dubai where England finished fifth having lost to Samoa in the quarter-finals.

Dan Norton is included in the squad following a prolific season in the World Series which saw him score 52 tries to his way to collecting the England Sevens Player of the Year award last month.

Also nominated for the Player of the Year accolade were Marcus Watson and Tom Powell, who both make the squad while Mat Turner and Tom Mitchell make their return from injury.

England have been drawn in a pool containing Portugal, Hong Kong and Argentina, making Ryan's side the favourite to progress to the knockout stages.

"We're heading to Moscow with some good momentum behind us after two third place finishes in Glasgow and London and then winning the first leg of the European Grand Prix in Lyon," the England coach said.

"We are going to Russia to win the World Cup, not to make up the numbers, but at the same time we would be foolish to not concentrate on the present first with only the winner of each pool going through."

England squad: Rob Vickerman (capt), John Brake, Mike Ellery, Christian Lewis-Pratt, Tom Mitchell, Dan Norton, Mark Odejobi, Tom Powell, James Rodwell, Mat Turner, Marcus Watson, Jeffrey Williams.

You can see the IRB Rugby World Cup Sevens on Sky Sports between June 28-30.

  • Share:

Post Comment

*All fields required, your email address will be kept private