The road to RWC2015

Mexico and Jamaica to get qualification process underway

Last Updated: 21/03/12 8:11am

  • Share:
The Webb Ellis trophy: The ultimate goal for all the sides

The Webb Ellis trophy: The ultimate goal for all the sides

Sky Bet

    • Retrieving latest Sky Bet odds

The long road to the 2015 Rugby World Cup will get underway on Saturday when Mexico take on Jamaica in the opening qualifying match.

The rugby minnows will clash in Mexico City, with World Cup final referee Craig Joubert - who was also in charge of Wales' Grand Slam win over France - set to officiate the encounter in the NACRA Caribbean group.

Rugby union is very much in its infancy in Mexico, with the country still undergoing the ranking qualification process, while Jamaica are No.83 in the world.

Some 80 countries will take part in the qualifying system with 184 games set to be played before the make-up for the tournament - which will be held in England - will be known.

Joining Mexico and Jamaica in hoping to be one of the 20 teams to play in the tournament will be the likes of Brazil, Madagascar, Costa Rica, Sri Lanka, India and Iran.

Canada, USA, Japan, Namibia, Georgia, Romania, Russia and Fiji - who all played at the 2011 World Cup in New Zealand - will also take part in the qualification process.

However England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, Italy, France, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Tonga, Samoa and Argentina have already booked their places.

  • Share: