Australia welcome back fit-again Tatafu Polota-Nau for European tour

Last Updated: 11/10/13 7:20am

  • Share:
Tatafu Polota-Nau: Returns to the Australia squad

Tatafu Polota-Nau: Returns to the Australia squad

Sky Bet

Tatafu Polota-Nau will return to the Australia squad for the five-match tour to Europe in the autumn.

Polota-Nau missed the three Tests against the British and Irish Lions and the Rugby Championship campaign with a broken arm and then a hamstring injury.

However he has been passed fit for the trip, with Nick Cummins, Nick Phipps, Paddy Ryan and Mike Harris also returning.

Scott Fardy, who will miss the third Bledisloe Cup clash against New Zealand on October 19 due to an eye injury, will also travel however Peter Betham, Albert Anae and Liam Gill all miss out.

Kurtley Beale, Scott Higginbotham, Wycliff Palu and David Pocock are ruled out through injury, while James O'Connor has been released from his Wallabies contract due to disciplinary problems.

"We recognise we are going over to play some very experienced and talented teams in the UK following our Test against the All Blacks," said head coach Ewen McKenzie.

"As a result, we've selected a group that contains a strong mix of veterans but also 10 players, almost a third of the squad, who have only made their test debuts this season.

Australia - Forwards: Ben Alexander, Sekope Kepu, Benn Robinson, Paddy Ryan, James Slipper, Saia Faingaa, Stephen Moore, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Kane Douglas, James Horwill (captain), Rob Simmons, Sitaleki Timani, Dave Dennis, Scott Fardy, Liam Gill, Michael Hooper, Ben McCalman, Ben Mowen.
Backs: Will Genia, Nick Phipps, Nic White, Quade Cooper, Matt Toomua, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Mike Harris, Tevita Kuridrani, Christian Lealiifano, Nick Cummins, Chris Feauai-Sautia, Joe Tomane, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley

  • Share: