Premiership Rugby announce format for the inaugural World Club Sevens

Last Updated: 12/06/13 9:47am

  • Share:
Harlequins will be amongst the teams competing in the inaugural World Club Sevens at Twickenham in August

Harlequins will be amongst the teams competing in the inaugural World Club Sevens at Twickenham in August

Sky Bet

The inaugural World Club Sevens pools have been announced by Premiership Rugby ahead of the competition at Twickenham on 17 and 18 August.

A total of 12 sides from around the world are set to compete and will be split into three pools on the first day, before being divided into three cup competitions on the Sunday.

Teams from England, the US, South Africa, Russia, Australia and New Zealand will compete and the rugby director of Premiership Rugby, Phil Winstanley, is expecting some memorable matches.

"I am delighted that we have been able to assemble a who's who of world rugby for the World Club Sevens," he said.

"This will be a truly elite event as the rugby world builds towards the return of rugby into the Olympics in 2016.

"You can already see the potential for some unforgettable clashes at Twickenham and that's before we get into day two when the different cup competitions will unfold."

The full match schedule is set to be released on Wednesday at noon with the first game of the tournament due to kick off at the same time on 17 August.

Draw in full

Pool A: Winner of JP Morgan Rugby Sevens Series, VVA Moscow Region, New York, Western Province

Pool B: Buenos Aires, Northampton Saints, San Francisco, Blue Bulls

Pool C: ACT Brumbies, Auckland, Harlequins, Kuban Krasnador

  • Share:

Post Comment

*All fields required, your email address will be kept private


World Club Sevens 2013

Twickenham Stadium is holding the World Club Sevens tournament in August

World Club Sevens confirmed

Twickenham Stadium will host the inaugural World Club Sevens tournament on 17 and 18 August.

Most Popular


Good Week/Bad Week

Good Week/Bad Week

Sky Sports picks out our heroes and villains from another eventful last seven days in the world of sport.

Six of the best

Six of the best

Ahead of the Super Rugby Qualifying Finals, Sky Sports takes a look at the six teams in contention.

Mike Tindall factfile

Mike Tindall factfile

A factfile on England World Cup-winner Mike Tindall, who has announced his retirement from professional rugby.