England Women confirmed as the top seeds for Rugby World Cup Sevens

Last Updated: 07/02/13 11:24am

  • Share:
England Women have been confirmed as top seeds

England Women have been confirmed as top seeds

Sky Bet

England Women will be the top seeds for the IRB Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013 in Moscow.

England, who won the second leg of the Women's Sevens World Series in Houston, will now avoid RWC Sevens 2009 winners Australia, Canada and USA in the pool stages at the event, which takes place in the Luzhniki Stadium from June 28-30.

However England could face the likes of New Zealand, the Netherlands and Fiji when the draw is made on February 28.

England ace Heather Fisher, who helped the side to the RWC Plate in 2009, said: "Women's Rugby Sevens is really competitive these days and I think that bodes well for the Rugby World Cup Sevens in June.

"The final in Houston could have involved any one of the top eight sides because there was very little between everyone. This is a fantastic result for us and a platform for us to build on for the next few months heading into the World Cup."

Pools for Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013

Band 1: Australia, England, Canada, USA
Band 2: New Zealand, South Africa, Spain, Russia
Band 3: Netherlands, China, France, Japan
Band 4: Tunisia, Ireland, Fiji, (S American Qualifier).
Note: Bands 3 and 4 may change depending on the result of the South American qualifying tournament.

  • Share:


Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013

New Zealand: Defending World series champions

Gold Coast draw

The IRB have announced the pools for the opening round of the HSBC Sevens World Series, the Gold Coast Sevens.

Wales lost to eventual champions New Zealand as they surrendered their IRB Sevens World title at the quarter-final stage

John: Basic errors cost us

Wales head coach Paul John admitted he was disappointed with the manner of his side's IRB Sevens World Cup exit.

Tim Mikkelson: IRB Sevens Player of the Year

Sevens award for Mikkelson

New Zealand's Tim Mikkelson has been named the IRB Sevens Player of the Year.

Most Popular


Rivalry renewed

Rivalry renewed

Tommy Bowe says Ulster are ready for the new season and driven by their rivalry with Leinster.

Rugby Championship R1

Rugby Championship R1

Bad weather dominated the opening fixtures of the Rugby Championship, but what will this weekend hold?

Try of the week

Try of the week

Watch five of the best tries from around the world of rugby union - and then vote for your favourite.