Eight new faces in France squad for Tests against Australia, Argentina and Samoa

Last Updated: 16/10/12 2:17pm

  • Share:
Jules Plisson: Stade Francais fly-half rewarded for Top 14 form

Jules Plisson: Stade Francais fly-half rewarded for Top 14 form

Sky Bet

France have included eight uncapped players in a 33-man squad for their November Test programme.

Racing Metro prop Ben Arous, Castres prop Yannick Forestier, Toulon lock Jocelino Suta, Perpignan lock Sebastien Vahaamahina, Toulon flanker Pierrick Gunther, Stade Francais fly-half Jules Plisson, Toulouse centre Gael Fickou and Toulon winger Vincent Martin are the new faces.

Thierry Dusautoir returns as captain after being rested for the summer tour of Argentina and is joined by experienced pair Vincent Clerc and Nicolas Mas, who also missed that trip.

Playmaker Frederic Michalak, now back in the Top 14 with Toulon after a spell in South Africa, is given a chance to revive his international career but there is no place for veteran Clermont centre Aurelien Rougerie.

France coach Philippe Saint-Andre will reduce the squad to 23 on November 4 prior to matches with Australia (Nov 10), Argentina (Nov 17) and Samoa (Nov 24).

Full squad:

Forwards - Eddy Ben Arous (Racing-Metro), Thomas Domingo (Clermont), Yannick Forestier (Castres), Benjamin Kayser (Clermont), Christopher Tolofua (Toulouse), Dimitri Szarzewski (Stade Francais), David Attoub (Stade Francais), Vincent Debaty (Clermont), Nicolas Mas (Perpignan), Yoann Maestri (Toulouse), Pascal Pape (Stade Francais), Jocelino Suta (Toulon), Sebastien Vahaamahina (Perpignan), Damien Chouly (Clermont), Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse, capt), Pierrick Gunther (Toulon), Wenceslas Lauret (Biarritz), Fulgence Ouedraogo (Montpellier), Louis Picamoles (Toulouse)

Backs - Maxime Machenaud (Racing-Metro), Morgan Parra (Clermont), Frederic Michalak (Toulouse), Jules Plisson (Stade Francais), Francois Trinh-Duc (Montpellier), Vincent Clerc (Toulouse), Brice Dulin (Castres), Benjamin Fall (Racing-Metro), Gael Fickou (Toulouse), Wesley Fofana (Clermont), Florian Fritz (Toulouse), Yoann Huget (Toulouse), Vincent Martin (Toulon), Maxime Mermoz (Toulon)

  • Share: