Robshaw takes top award

Harlequins dominate end of season honours

Last Updated: 05/05/09 11:11pm

  • Share:
Robshaw: rewarded for fine season

Robshaw: rewarded for fine season

Sky Bet

Harlequins pair Chris Robshaw and Jordan Turner-Hall picked up the top playing honours at Tuesday evening's Guinness Premiership awards ceremony in London.

Robshaw, the all-action flanker, was named Premiership player of the year, while centre Turner-Hall collected the Land Rover discovery-of-the-season award.

The two England prospects have been integral to Harlequins' most successful Premiership season to date, which continues with a home semi-final against London Irish on May 9.

Robshaw and Turner-Hall were also applauded for their part in Harlequins' run to the Heineken Cup quarter-finals, which included back-to-back victories over Stade Francais.

Robshaw, who has been ever-present in the league, beat England and London Irish full-back Delon Armitage into second place with Bath winger Joe Maddock, the Premiership's leading try-scorer, in third.

Turner-Hall, 21, was the unanimous winner of the young player's award, with Newcastle scrum-half Micky Young in second and Leicester's Ben Youngs in third.

Harlequins also provided more players than any other club to the Sky Sports team of the season in Robshaw, Mike Ross, Gonzalo Tiesi and Ugo Monye.

Cockerill crowned

But Quins missed out on a clean sweep when Leicester's Richard Cockerill pipped Dean Richards to the Hilton director of rugby award.

Cockerill only took the job in November, initially on a temporary basis after Heyneke Meyer was given compassionate leave, but has guided the Tigers to the top of the Premiership table and into the Heineken Cup final.

Richards came second for his efforts in building a successful side predominantly around English players.

London Irish boss Toby Booth finished third after guiding the Exiles into the Premiership semi-finals during his first season in charge.

Bristol may have been relegated but they did have something to cheer after winger David Lemi's brilliant solo score against Bath in September was voted try of the season.

In other awards, Saracens' Glen Jackson won the Gilbert Golden Boot for the second time in three seasons, while Bath lock Danny Grewcock was named EDF Energy community player of the season.

Award winners

Guinness Premiership player of the season: Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Land Rover discovery of the season: Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins)
Hilton director of rugby: Richard Cockerill (Leicester Tigers)
Bank of America try of the season: David Lemi (Bristol v Bath, Sunday September 7, 2008)
The Times top try scorer: Joe Maddock (Bath) with 11 tries
Gilbert golden boot: Glen Jackson (Saracens) with 234 points
EDF Energy community player of the season: Danny Grewcock (Bath)
Sky Sports dream team: O Morgan (Gloucester); J Maddock (Bath), G Tiesi (Harlequins), S Mapasua (London Irish), U Monye (Harlequins); C Hodgson (Sale Sharks), P Hodgson (London Irish), M Ayerza (Leicester), L Mears (Bath), M Ross (Harlequins), D Schofield (Sale Sharks), B Kay (Leicester), C Robshaw (Harlequins), S Armitage (London Irish), J-M Fernandez Lobbe (Sale Sharks, capt)

  • Share: