Super League: Leeds' Rob Burrow backs use of technology in rugby league
Last Updated: May 31, 2013 12:15pm
Burrow sympathises for Hull KR
Rob Burrow has backed rugby league to learn from Steve Ganson's video-refereeing gaffe in Hull FC's Magic Weekend win over rivals Hull KR on Saturday.
The video referee awarded a second-half try for the Black and Whites to Chris Green at the Etihad Stadium despite the fact he was clearly ahead of kicker Danny Houghton, meaning he should have been offside.
Warrington head coach Tony Smith has called for a review into the use of the technology, although Burrow does not believe the innovative system should be scrapped over human error.
The Leeds scrum-half thinks officials will learn from the weekend controversy, telling Sky Sports: "It wasn't (a great moment). I watched it live on Sky and saw the result of the video decision. Obviously it was the wrong one
"I know Steve Ganson has apologised for that. I know it doesn't make it any easier on Hull KR. I know they are angry with it. I think it's just one of those things that won't happen again.
"I think people will be a lot more thorough in what they do. I can totally feel it for the Hull KR fans. The penalty could have been given to Hull KR at the other end of the pitch and who knows what would have happened.
"It was human error. We are blessed with trying new things in rugby league. Going to the screen has been a major success I believe. The different angles we can have. You can see things which to the human eye wouldn't have been seen so it's a great factor about our game. This one was just down to human error."
"It was human error. We are blessed with trying new things in rugby league. Going to the screen has been a major success I believe."
There have been calls for action against Ganson, although Burrow believes has suffered enough and that the game will benefit from the mistake during the Magic Weekend.
"Everybody makes mistakes. He has apologised for that and put his hand up that he did get the decision wrong. I don't think it's needed to be that drastic (to quit)," he continued.
"He'll never do that again. Referees in general will be more thorough when they go to the screen and check every angle."
"By the word of the rule he did run behind the player, but at the same time the player didn't get impeded. He didn't run into the player. As player it should have stood," he continued.
"We believe it was a try, but if you look at the rule so that decision is a tough on. We just see it as something that has happened and move on from that."