Cologni in temporary charge

Lezignan coach placed in charge of France for Wales match

Last Updated: 29/05/12 10:26am

  • Share:
Aurelien Cologni (right): In temporary charge for Wales clash

Aurelien Cologni (right): In temporary charge for Wales clash

Sky Bet

Former international Aurelien Cologni will be in charge of France for the clash with Wales in Wrexham.

Cologni, who is coach of Lezignan, has been appointed in a temporary capacity while the French Rugby League Federation continue their search for a successor to Bobbie Goulding, whose three-year tenure as national coach ended last year.

Cologni, a former Catalan Dragons player who made five appearances for Celtic Crusaders at the end of the 2007 season, has named an initial 24-man squad for the game on Saturday, June 16.

Only five full-time Catalan Dragons players are in the party.


Captain Olivier Elima, of Bradford Bulls, is joined in the squad by his former Catalan team-mates Thomas Bosc, Jean-Philippe Baile, Cyril Stacul, Gregory Mounis and Eloi Pelissier, with the rest of the squad coming from France's domestic competition.

Federation president Nicolas Larrat said: "There are a lot of very good young players who play for our Elite League clubs and this will be an opportunity for them to prove themselves ahead of the World Cup in 2013 and Euro Nations that is to be held this autumn.

"Of course, it is also important that the senior players of the France team will be in there to support the young players who will be launched into the deep end.

"This is what the coaching staff will be asking of players like Olivier Elima, Gregory Mounis, Jean-Philippe Baile and Thomas Bosc."

France squad: Olivier Arnaud (Avignon), Jean-Philippe Baile (Catalan Dragons), William Barthau (Saint-Esteve XIII Catalan), Romaric Bemba (Carcassonne), Andrew Bentley (Lezignan), Kane Bentley (Lezignan), Julian Bousquet (Saint-Esteve XIII Catalan), Thomas Bosc (Catalan Dragons), Damien Cardace (Saint-Esteve XIII Catalan), Anthony Carrere (Pia), Olivier Elima (Bradford), Mathieu Griffi (Lezignan), Theo Gonzalez-Trique (Toulouse), Jeremy Guiraud (Carcassonne), Kevin Larroyer (Toulouse), Samy Masselot (Villeneuve-Sur-Lot), Gregory Mounis (Catalan Dragons), Mathias Pala (Saint-Esteve XIII Catalan), Eloi Pelissier (Catalan Dragons), Stanislas Robin (Villeneuve-Sur-Lot), Clement Soubeyras (Pia), Jonathan Soum (Carcassonne), Cyril Stacul (Catalan Dragons), Yoan Tisseyre (Lezignan).

  • Share: