London 2012 stars dominate Sports Personality of the Year shortlist

Last Updated: 27/11/12 11:28am

  • Share:
Bradley Wiggins: Currently the favourite to land the award for 2012

Bradley Wiggins: Currently the favourite to land the award for 2012

Sky Bet

Britain's Olympic and Paralympic heroes dominate the 12-strong shortlist for this year's BBC Sports Personality of the Year award.

Sports Personality odds

Who are you backing to win Sports Personality of the Year? Bet on the winner here.

World No.1 golfer Rory McIlroy is the only nominee not to have won a medal at London 2012, while there are five women included on the shortlist in contrast to last year's all-male nominees.

For profiles of all 12 candidates, click HERE

Cyclist Bradley Wiggins is Sky Bet's odds-on favourite after his historic triumph in the Tour de France and gold in the Olympics time trial, ahead of Mo Farah (4/1), gold medallist in the 5,000 metres and 10,000m.

Sports Personality of the year shortlist:

Nicola Adams (Boxing)
Ben Ainslie (Sailing)
Jessica Ennis (Athletics)
Mo Farah (Atheltics)
Katherine Grainger (Rowing)
Sir Chris Hoy (Cycling)
Rory McIlroy (Golf)
Andy Murray (Tennis)
Ellie Simmonds (Paralympic swimming)
Sarah Storey (Paralympic cycling)
David Weir (Paralympic athletics)
Bradley Wiggins (Cycling)

Andy Murray, who became the first British man to win a grand slam singles title for 76 years and also won an Olympic gold, is currently third favourite just ahead of Olympic heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis.

David Weir, the wheelchair athlete who won four golds in London, is ranked by the bookies as the leading Paralympian. Fellow Paralympic stars Sarah Storey and Ellie Simmonds also make the list.


Female boxing gold medallist Nicola Adams, cycling legend Sir Chirs Hoy, sailing great Ben Ainslie and rowing gold medallist Katherine Grainger complete the shortlist.

The strength of the competition meant even the only two British women who won double gold medals at the Olympics - cyclist Laura Trott and dressage rider Charlotte Dujardin - did not make the shortlist.

The expert shortlisting panel included national newspaper sports editors and three former award nominees - Sir Steve Redgrave, Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson and Denise Lewis.

The panel also selected the winners of the coach of the year, team of the year and overseas personality. The main award will be chosen by public vote with the winner announced on December 16.

"We had already extended the shortlist for the main award this year from 10 to 12, but at times we all wished it was nearer 15 or 20," said Barbara Slater, who chaired the panel.

"It was very difficult to leave off Olympians and Paralympians of the calibre of Charlotte Dujardin, Alistair Brownlee, Jade Jones, Sophie Christiansen, Laura Trott, Jonnie Peacock, Jason Kenny and Victoria Pendleton, to name just a few."

  • Share:


Sports Personality of the Year 2012

Bradley Wiggins: Favourite for 2012 Sports Personality of the Year

Wiggins hot favourite for award

Team Sky's Bradley Wiggins attracts huge support for the Sports Personality of the Year award.

Jessica Ennis: proving popular with punters

Ennis' late surge

Jessica Ennis is making a late surge in Sports Personality betting to challenge Bradley Wiggins.

Jessica Ennis: Leading contender for SPOTY

Ennis late surge in SPOTY market

Jessica Ennis is making a late surge in the BBC Sports Personality betting market to emerge as the major challenger to favourite Bradley Wiggins.


Most Popular


Murray v Djokovic

Murray v Djokovic

We delve into the archives and recall previous meetings between Andy Murray and Novak Djokovic.

Supreme Serena

Supreme Serena

We look back at the career of the 19-time Grand Slam champion Serena Williams.

Week One at the Aus Open

Week One at the Aus Open

We take a look back at what's happened in Melbourne with the best pictures of the week.