Guide to the Hockey World Cup

Last Updated: 29/05/14 6:19pm

  • Share:
The Netherlands women's team are ranked No.1 in the world

The Netherlands women's team are ranked No.1 in the world

Sky Bet

The 2014 Rabobank Hockey World Cup starts this Saturday 31 May and you can watch all 76 games live on Sky Sports. Here's our guide to tournament...


Since 1982 the tournament has been held every four years and this time the world's best descend on The Hague in the Netherlands.

The Hockey Park, including two stadiums Kyocera and GreenFields, will host all of the 76 games. This is only the second time that the men's and women's tournaments have been held at the same time and venue.

The games start on Saturday 31st May with the finals taking place across the weekend of the 14th and 15th of June. You can see every game live on Sky Sports with our dedicated team including host Natalie Pinkham - for more information and television schedule click here.


The men's and women's tournaments are split in to two pools of six.

Australia are ranked No.1 in the world in the men's game and are the 2010 World Cup holders. Germany and the Netherlands are ranked third and fourth with England the fourth best in the world.


Australia, Belgium, England, Malaysia, Spain and India.


Netherlands, Germany, New Zealand, Korea, Argentina and South Africa.

Argentina are ranked second and won the cup from top seed the Netherlands in 2010, with third-ranked England beating Germany to third spot. Australia and New Zealand aren't many points behind England in fourth and fifth in the world's best.


Australia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Korea, Japan and Belgium.


England, Argentina, Germany, China, USA and South Africa.


Pool teams play each other once. The winner of the Pool A will play the runner-up of Pool B and vice versa in the semi-finals.

Remaining teams play-off for final positions, for example, sixth place in both groups will play to determine who finished 11th and 12th respectively.


- Each game is made up of two 35 minute halves with a ten minute interval at half-time.

- Teams can make as many substitutions as they wish but not during penalty corners or pending video referral decisions.

- If scores are level at full-time in knock-out stage games outcome will be decided by a penalty shoot-out.

Sky Sports 3's live coverage of the Hockey World Cup starts this weekend with England's men taking on Spain from 4pm on Saturday before England women's first match against the United States from 11:30am on Sunday.

  • Share:


Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014

Kieran Govers (top) celebrates after putting Australia 2-1 ahead

Aussies win world title

Australia successfully defended their Hockey World Cup title with a crushing 6-1 victory over the Netherlands.

Maartje Paumen: Scored the first of two Dutch goals as the Netherlands won the Hockey World Cup

Netherlands crowned champions

Netherlands secured the Rabobank Hockey World Cup by beating Australia 2-0 at Kyocera Stadium in The Hague.

Mink van der Weerden: Struck the winner to send the Netherlands into the World Cup final

England sent crashing out

England bowed out of the Rabobank Hockey World Cup after they lost their semi-final 1-0 to the Netherlands.

Most Popular


NFC predictions

NFC predictions

Richard Graves breaks down the weekend action from the NFL's National Football Conference.

Tyler's Xmas stats

Tyler's Xmas stats

Martin Tyler brings you the most interesting Christmas Day and Boxing Day facts from over the years.

My Special Day Revisited

My Special Day Revisited

This Christmas, Sky Sports News HQ will revisit some of the youngsters who met their sporting idols.