London 2012

Fourth gold for Ainslie

Ainslie sails into history books with fourth Olympic gold

Last Updated: 05/08/12 6:57pm

  • Share:

Great Britain's Ben Ainslie became the greatest sailor in Olympic history by winning gold in the Finn class on Sunday.

Ainslie beat Danish rival and long time standings leader Jonas Hogh-Christensen in the final race at Weymouth to clinch his fourth consecutive gold medal and write his name in the history books.

The 35-year-old replaced another Dane, the legendary Paul Elvstrom as the Games' most decorated sailor after triumphing on home waters in front of thousands of home supporters.

Hogh-Christensen came into the medal race with a two-point advantage over Ainslie, ahead of whom he finished in seven of the 10 opening series contests.

The British sailor knew he needed to finish ahead of the Dane if he was to win gold, but could not afford to sail him down the fleet as that would give Holland's Pieter-Jan Postma a chance of winning gold.

That said, Ainslie was like a hunter tracking his prey as they awaited the start of the race.

Shaky start

The home favourite did not get off to the best of starts, though, and he failed to control Hogh-Christensen as the fleet separated heading up towards the first mark.

However, Ainslie rounded the top-mark in fifth - gold medal-winning position - with the Dane 17 seconds behind in ninth.

The Macclesfield-born sailor had a great first downwind leg rounding the second mark just behind race leader Jonathan Lobert of France.

Hogh-Christensen rounded seventh and then went around the third mark in 10th, with Ainslie just a place ahead as he began to match race the Dane as Postma struggled.

The Brit was in control heading to the third mark and remained ahead of Hogh-Christensen, who attempted a breakaway on the last upwind leg.

The tactic did not work as Ainslie stayed ahead around the fifth mark, but the Briton was ninth and Postma had moved into second - positions that would have seen the Dutch sailor win gold.

However, attention from New Zealand's Dan Slater put Postma off towards the sixth mark and he eventually finished fifth, while Ainslie came in ninth ahead of Hogh-Christensen to win gold in a medal race won by Lobert, who took bronze ahead of Postma.


"I am pretty speechless,'' Ainslie told BBC Sport. "It has been a tough week.

"There was amazing competition, especially from Jonas Hogh-Christensen from Denmark, but this was the time to do it in front of a home crowd.

"I am just so glad for all the people that supported me over the years, all the people that came here to wave me on and all the people that have written in and supported us across the country.

"It has just been an amazing experience this Olympics and I can tell you that listening to a crowd like that makes a difference.''

Asked about his future and competing at the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, he added: "You can never say never.

"I am not going to do a Steve Redgrave here, but I don't think I could sail again.

"It is killing my body so I would be very surprised if you see me in Rio and this would be the best way to leave - on top, with a home Olympics. You'll never beat that or get better than that.''

  • Share:


Olympics Today - August 5

Luke Campbell: Edged out his Bulgarian quarter-final foe

Campbell guaranteed medal

Luke Campbell became the first British boxer to guarantee a medal by posting a narrow victory on Sunday.

Francesca Painter-Snell: Scored a hat-rick in Britain's defeat

Spain eliminate Team GB

Britain pushed Spain all the way but were still dumped out of the women's water polo tournament.

Brilliant Bolt retains crown

Brilliant Bolt retains crown

Usain Bolt retained the fastest man in the world title after claiming the 100 metres title with an Olympic record 9.63 seconds.

Olympics 2012 Features


DOB: 17/5/1956 Event: Boxing Medals: 1 gold Flag: USA

Top Tens

A week into the Games of the XXX Olympiad, Richard Moore brings us his half-way highs and lows

Olympics history

Linford Christie sprinted to 100m gold for Britain at an Olympic Games best remembered for America's basketball dream team.