David Weir's Paralympic Games success rewarded with CBE in New Year Honours list

Last Updated: 29/12/12 10:22am

  • Share:

David Weir has been awarded a CBE in the New Year Honours list after his amazing run of success at the Paralympic Games.

Weir, one of the most decorated athletes in wheelchair racing history, took all four of his chances to win gold at London 2012 and capped his successes on the final day of competition with victory in the men's marathon on The Mall.

He had previously thrilled packed crowds inside the Olympic Stadium with victories in the T54 category races over 800, 1,500 and 5,000 metres.

The Surrey star took his tally of Games gold medals to six, with six more having come at the IPC World Championships since his first in Assen back in 2006.

Weir has also won six editions of the London Marathon, being denied another back in 2010 by a series of punctures after leading the race by four minutes.

He carried the Union Flag at the closing ceremony of the Paralympics, sharing the honour with cyclist Sarah Storey, who becomes a Dame on the same list, and both were on the shortlist for Sports Personality of the Year.

But Weir voiced concerns over the honours system and suggested Paralympians have to work harder than their non-disabled counterparts to earn recognition.

"I am absolutely honoured to receive this award," Weir said.

"I would have been disappointed if Sarah Storey had not been made a Dame because she deserves it with 11 gold medals. It's a weird one how they choose it. Sometimes it seems that Paralympians have to win lots and lots of medals to get a damehood or a knighthood.

"Kelly Holmes was made a dame when she won two gold medals, but it seems we have to get into double figures to get it.

"Sarah Storey should have been awarded this years ago, and I just feel that sometimes we are left out perhaps because we are not in the public eye. It is a bit strange, but I am just honoured to get anything from the Queen

for doing a sport I love."

There was further recognition for British Paralympic athletes with MBEs going to Jessica-Jane Applegate, Mickey Bushell and sprint champion Hannah Cockroft, who was a dual gold medallist.

Discus throwers Aled Davies and Josie Pearson received the same honour as did sprint stars Johnnie Peacock, who beat Oscar Pistorius in the T44 100 metres and Richard Whitehead, an impressive winner of the T42 200 metres.

  • Share:

Most Popular


Question time

Question time

See what happened when Jessica Ennis-Hill competed in a sports quiz with a difference on Game Changers.

'Amazing experience'

'Amazing experience'

Sam Oldham says his childhood dreams came true when he won a medal at the London 2012 Olympics.

Javelin masterclass

Javelin masterclass

Olympic champion Jessica Ennis-Hill gave a javelin masterclass on this week's Game Changers.