GAA: Cork face Tipperary in All-Ireland SHC semi-final at Croke Park

Last Updated: 17/08/14 3:11pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

Patrick Cronin will captain Cork in Sunday’s All-Ireland semi-final against Tipperary after recovering from injury.

The Bishopstown clubman suffered a stress fracture of the fibula during the Munster final win over Limerick but he has been given the green light to start at full-forward.

For the fourth game running, Cork manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy has been able to name an unchanged team.

Patrick Horgan and Alan Cadogan partner Cronin in the full-forward line, with Seamus Harnedy, Bill Cooper and Conor Lehane continuing at half-forward after scoring a combined 1-9 against Limerick.


Cork v Tipperary
Sunday, 3.30pm
Live on Sky Sports 3

Daniel Kearney and Alan Walsh form the midfield partnership, with Shane O’Neill and Mark Ellis at full-back and centre-back respectively.

Tipperary have also named an unchanged side as manager Eamon O’Shea keeps faith with the team that defeated Dublin by 13 points in last month’s All-Ireland quarter-final.

Paddy Stapleton retains his place at corner-back after coming in for the injured Michael Cahill against the Dubs. O’Shea hasn’t named his substitutes so it’s not clear whether Cahill is fit enough to take his place on the bench.

John O’Dwyer, who scored 2-2 against Dublin, starts at wing-forward with Noel McGrath, Seamus Callanan and Lar Corbett named in a dangerous full-forward line.

Sunday’s semi-final will be the first championship meeting between the two counties at Croke Park. The last time they played at a venue outside of Thurles and Cork was in a 2004 qualifier, when Cork won in Killarney’s Fitzgerald Stadium before going on to capture the Liam McCarthy Cup.


2012: Tipperary 1-22 Cork 0-24
2011: Tipperary 3-22 Cork 0-23
2010: Cork 3-15 Tipperary 0-14
2009: Tipperary 1-19 Cork 0-19
2008: Tipperary 1-19 Cork 1-13

The counties are locked together on 37 wins each from 82 championship matches. Seven of the others were drawn with the remaining one, in 1926, abandoned. 

Tipperary were 3-25 to 4-19 winners when the teams met in this year’s National League quarter-final. Despite conceding 2-4 inside the opening eight minutes, Cork rallied to lead at half-time, but the Premier County claimed victory after Darragh Egan saved a late free from opposite number Anthony Nash.

“That could have been just a bit of a hangover from the All-Ireland (final defeat),” said midfielder Kearney. “We never really got going at all. We brought that into the game against Tipperary when, the first 10 minutes, they blew us out of the water.

“If we’re not at the top of our game, the same thing could happen. We’re very aware of that and how important it is to start well.”

Cork: A Nash; S O’Neill, D Cahalane, S McDonnell; C Joyce, M Ellis, L McLoughlin; D Kearney, A Walsh; C Lehane, B Cooper, S Harnedy; A Cadogan, P Cronin, P Horgan.

Subs: D McCarthy, C O’Sullivan, K Burke, W Egan, E Cadogan, B Lawton, J Coughlan, S Moylan, C McCarthy, R O’Shea, P O’Sullivan.

Tipperary: D Gleeson; C Barrett, Padraic Maher, P Stapleton; B Maher, J Barry, K Bergin; S McGrath, J Woodlock; G Ryan, Patrick Maher, J O’Dwyer;  N McGrath, S Callanan, L Corbett.

Subs: TBC.

Watch Cork v Tipperary live on Sky Sports 3 on Sunday from 3pm

  • Share:


Most Popular


Balague: Ronaldo now a striker

Balague: Ronaldo now a striker

Guillem Balague compares the changes made by Ronaldo and Messi, while saying Valencia want big money for Otamendi.

Fantasy FC tickets

Fantasy FC tickets

The Fantasy Football Club is offering you the chance to join Darren Bent on the show this Thursday.

Carra: City's squad the best

Carra: City's squad the best

Man City have the best squad in the league, says Jamie Carragher, who feels they don't need to make wholesale changes.