Evans takes GP3 pole at Spa

Kiwi extends Championship lead with four crucial points

By William Esler.   Last Updated: 01/09/12 11:24am

  • Share:
Mitch Evans: On pole at Spa (Image: GP3 Series Media)

Mitch Evans: On pole at Spa (Image: GP3 Series Media)

Sky Bet

Mitch Evans will start from pole at Spa after MW Arden locked out the front row for first of the GP3 races in Belgium.

The Championship leader set a new qualifying record of 2:10.513, as he claimed four vital points to extend his lead over nearest challenger Aaro Vainio.

After the treacherous conditions of Friday practice, the sun was shining a Spa-Francorchamps, giving the 26 drivers their first dry running of the weekend at the legendary venue.

Lotus driver Daniel Abt was in control for much of the session, but with two minutes to go Evans stormed to the top of the standings.

His team-mate Matias Laine then displaced Abt to record his best qualifying result of the season in second.

The Lotus driver though, was on another flyer, however, he hit traffic which scuppered his final attempt and means he lines up third.

Vainio has left himself with a lot of work to do if he is to overhaul Evans in the standings, setting only the seventh quickest time.

Lewis Williamson was the best of the British drivers in sixth for Status, with William Buller 14th for Carlin, ahead of team-mate Alex Brundle who is 17th and Alice Powell starts from 20th.

GP3 Qualifying - Belgium
1. Mitch Evans (NZL) - MW Arden - 2:10.513
2. Matias Laine (FIN) - MW Arden - +0.225
3. Daniel Abt (GER) - Lotus - +0.241
4. Antonio Felix da Costa (POR) - Carlin - +0.467
5. Conor Daly (USA) - Lotus - +0.551

  • Share:


Most Popular


Enaam Ahmed: The next Hamilton

Enaam Ahmed: The next Hamilton

Sky Sports meets Enaam Ahmed; the 14-year-old World and European Karting Champion tipped to be the next Lewis Hamilton.

Driver coaching

Driver coaching

Our reporter's motorsport journey continues with coaching from 2012 BTCC champion Gordon Shedden.

Motorsport tickets

Motorsport tickets

Get your tickets for Speedway, British Superbike Championship and British Touring Cars now!