IPL: Delhi Daredevils win without injured skipper Kevin Pietersen

Last Updated: 20/04/14 1:03pm

  • Share:
JP Duminy: South Africa batsman hit three sixes in his 52 not out

JP Duminy: South Africa batsman hit three sixes in his 52 not out

Sky Bet

Half-centuries from Dinesh Karthik and JP Duminy helped Delhi Daredevils to their first win of the Indian Premier League season, beating Kolkata Knight Riders by four wickets in Dubai.

Set a target of 167, stand-in skipper Karthik set up the run chase with a 40-ball 56 and Duminy's 52 not out steered the Daredevils over the winning line with three balls to spare.

Karthik was leading the side as former England batsman Kevin Pietersen was again ruled out by the finger injury that also forced him to miss the season-opening defeat to Bangalore Royal Challengers on Thursday.

The game turned Delhi's way in the 18th over of their run chase when, with 32 still needed, Duminy took his fellow South African Morne Morkel for 21 runs, including back-to-back sixes.

The left-hander went on to finish the game off by launching Piyush Chawla's leg-spin over the boundary rope for the third six of his 35-ball effort. The result snapped Delhi's seven-match losing run dating back to last season.

The Knight Riders had earlier made 166-5 after opting to bat first under floodlights in Dubai.

Robin Uthappa top scored with 55 and was well supported by Manish Pandey (48) in a third-wicket stand of 64 after both openers - Gautam Gambhir and Jacques Kallis - had gone for ducks.

  • Share:


Indian Premier League 2014

Gautam Gambhir: Lifted the trophy after his team chased down a target of 200

Knight Riders take IPL title

Kolkata Knight Riders were crowned IPL champions for a second time in three years after beating Kings XI Punjab.

Virender Sehwag: Another blistering knock

Kings XI book place in final

Virender Sehwag smashed 122 off 58 balls to help put Kings XI Punjab into their first IPL final.

Mike Hussey: Set the tone for Mumbai Indians with two early sixes

Mumbai miracle for Indians

Mumbai Indians qualified for the IPL play-offs after an incredible five-wicket win against Rajasthan Royals.

Most Popular


IPL Legends on Sky

IPL Legends on Sky

Kevin Pietersen, Shane Warne and Mahela Jayawardene will be live on Sky Sports to cover the IPL on Tuesday...

WATCH: T20 debate

WATCH: T20 debate

Should English cricket go down the IPL route? Michael Vaughan and Dominic Cork debate that and more...

The new breed

The new breed

We profile the men in line for international debuts during England's ODI with Ireland next Friday.