British Touring Car Championship: Jason Plato on pole at Brands Hatch

Last Updated: 12/10/13 6:15pm

  • Share:
Jason Plato: Delighted to be on pole

Jason Plato: Delighted to be on pole

Sky Bet

Two-time British Touring Car Champion Jason Plato secured his fourth pole of the year ahead of the season-ending finale at Brands Hatch.

The MG KX Momentum Racing man is one of five drivers in the hunt for the crown when the Grand Prix gets underway on Sunday.

Plato finished ahead of Sam Tordoff and championship leader Andrew Jordan while defending champion Gordon Sheddon was fourth and Adam Morgan fifth.

The drama came with the second-ranked Matt Neal, though.

Neal, who decided to race despite recently undergoing surgery on a badly broken finger, crashed out of the session after hitting a barrier on the exit of the Paddock Hill bend.

Honda did report that Neal will drive on Sunday, though, with Plato ready to lead the drivers out.

"The car is properly hooked up in the dry," he told the official BTCC website.

"I think the amount of rain we are due to have tomorrow will be like race three at Croft, and we were quick there too.

"I am very pleased to be on pole and delighted that Sam took P2."

  • Share: