2015 Rugby World Cup: Hosts England confirm Pennyhill Park as their training base

Last Updated: 26/08/14 1:02pm

  • Share:
Stuart Lancaster: Delighted with training facilities

Stuart Lancaster: Delighted with training facilities

Sky Bet

    • Retrieving latest Sky Bet odds

England’s preparations for the 2015 Rugby World Cup have been given a boost after the hosts secured Pennyhill Park as their main training base.

The Bagshot headquarters has been regularly used by England’s players as they prepare for games and head coach Stuart Lancaster hopes to use the facilities for as long as possible during the pool stages.

England might even remain at the Surrey base for all but one fixture in the whole competition, should they top Pool A and progress to the final.

But Lancaster’s men will head to Salford for their final Pool A match on October 10 at the Manchester City Stadium.

The other three pool contests will be played at Twickenham and the players can continue their normal pre-match routines.

"It's great to have Pennyhill Park as our training base," said Lancaster. "It's a place we are used to - the facilities are first-class, especially with the new training centre."

Rugby World Cup organisers have confirmed 41 training bases will be used throughout the tournament in September and October next year.


Wales have also welcomed their team base allocation, with half of their Pool A preparations taking place at their usual home The Vale Resort.

Warren Gatland's men play two of their four group matches at the Millennium Stadium, but will use London Irish’s training complex to prepare for games against Australia and England at Twickenham.

"We are very familiar with The Vale and their pedigree for hosting sporting teams is second to none,” said Gatland.

"In addition the new Hazlewood complex is another great base, which really suits our needs."

Reigning world champions New Zealand will split their group phase between The Lensbury and St Mary's University in west London, the Sport Wales National Centre and Darlington Mowden Park.

Ireland will move bases between each fixture, making use of Celtic Manor in Newport, the FA's centre of excellence St George's Park, Surrey Sports Park and the Sport Wales National Centre.

Scotland will rotate between Hartpury College, where Gloucester Rugby train, Leeds Metropolitan University, the University of Leeds and Newcastle Royal Grammar School.

Pennyhill Park and The Vale Resort are among the eight training bases for the tournament's knockout stages.

World Cup training bases

Argentina: Cheltenham RFC (Cheltenham RFC, Leisure@, Gym 66); Haileybury School, St George's Park.
Australia: University of Bath; Dulwich College.
Canada: Cardiff Metropolitan University; West Park Leeds RUFC (West Park Leeds RUFC, John Charles Centre for Sport); Leicester Grammar School; Swansea University (Swansea University, Wales National Pool Swansea).
England: Pennyhill Park; Salford (The AJ Bell Stadium, Irlam and Cadishead Leisure Centre).
Fiji: Milton Keynes and MK Dons (Woughton On The Green, Bletchley Leisure Centre); Swansea University; London Irish RFC (London Irish RFC, Elmbridge Xcel Leisure Complex).
France: The Vale Resort; Trinity School Croydon.
Georgia: Woodbury Park and Bicton College (Woodbury Park Hotel and Golf Club, Bicton College); Bristol and SGS Wise (South Gloucestershire and Stroud College, Bradley Stoke Leisure Centre); Celtic Manor and Newport (Newport High School/Active Living Centre, The Celtic Academy).
Ireland: Celtic Manor and Newport; St George's Park; Surrey Sports Park; Sport Wales National Centre.
Italy: Surrey Sports Park; Cobham RFC (Cobham RFC, ACS Cobham).
Japan: Warwick School; Brighton College.
Namibia: Loughborough University; Cobham RFC; Plymouth (University of St Mark and St John, Plymouth Albion RFC, Plymouth Life Centre and Royal Navy Rugby Union).
New Zealand: The Lensbury and St Mary's University; Sport Wales National Centre; Darlington Mowden Park (Darlington Mowden Park RFC, Middlesbrough FC).
Romania: Sutton Coldfield RFC (Sutton Coldfield RFC, Birmingham Metropolitan College, Wyndley Leisure Centre, CrossFitB76); Woodbury Park and Bicton College, Dulwich College.
Samoa: Sutton Coldfield RFC; University of Brighton (University of Brighton, Prince Regent Swimming Complex); Gateshead (Gateshead International Stadium, Gateshead Leisure Centre, Gateshead College); Milton Keynes and MK Dons.
Scotland: Hartpury College; Leeds Metropolitan University and University of Leeds; Newcastle Royal Grammar School.
South Africa: The Lensbury and St Mary's University; University of Birmingham; Gateshead; Eastbourne College and University of Brighton (Eastbourne College, University of Brighton - Eastbourne College).
Tonga: Cheltenham RFC, Loughborough University; University of Exeter; University of Northumbria.
USA: Haileybury School; Hartpury College; Leeds Trinity University (Leeds Trinity University, Kirkstall Leisure Centre); Portsmouth Royal Navy Rugby Union.
Wales: The Vale Resort; London Irish RFC.
Final Qualification Play-off Winner (TBC): Celtic Manor and Newport; Loughborough University; Moulton College; Manchester (Broughton Park FC Rugby Union, The Hough End Centre, Manchester Aquatics Centre).
Knockout phase bases: Celtic Manor and Newport; Swansea University; The Vale Resort; Sport Wales National Centre; Pennyhill Park; Surrey Sports Park; The Lensbury and St Mary's University; London Irish RFC.

  • Share:


Most Popular


Edwards: Soft on Stuart?

Edwards: Soft on Stuart?

Rugby journalists are questioning whether they're giving Stuart Lancaster too much leeway, says Phil Edwards.

Building the fortress

Building the fortress

Sky Sports caught up with England captain Chris Robshaw ahead of their Autumn International series.

Welsh Charge

Welsh Charge

Sky Sports speak exclusively to Wales captain Sam Warburton ahead of the Autumn Internationals series.