Motor Sport: Marc Marquez will be at the front of the grid at the Brickyard

Last Updated: 10/08/14 2:37pm

  • Share:
Marc Marquez is on pole ahead of his bid for another Grand Prix victory

Marc Marquez is on pole ahead of his bid for another Grand Prix victory

Sky Bet

World champion Marc Marquez will be on pole position for the Indianapolis Grand Prix on Sunday as his phenomenal season continues.

The Spaniard will be chasing his 10th win from 10 races this season at the Brickyard and will be starting from pole for the eighth time.

Marquez clocked 1min 31.619sec on his Honda with Andrea Dovizioso in second place on a Ducati, 0.225sec off the pace.

Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo was third fastest, Aleix Espargaro, of the NGM Forward Racing team, impressed again in fourth, while multiple former World Champion Valentino Rossi, on the other Yamaha factory bike, took fifth.

Aleix's brother Pol Espargaro was pushed back to sixth on the Monster Yamaha Tech3 machine.

Marquez, who won at the Brickyard last year as a rookie, now has 17 poles in 28 races in MotoGP.

"It is really good to be back on pole after the holidays,” said Marquez. “I am really happy and it gives us a lot of confidence.

"Our pace is high and, if it's dry, I think we can fight for the victory. The tyres will be a big decision, especially for the rear.

"The new layout is good. Maybe the old one was better for our bike but, overall, it's better to ride. The surface is also a lot better, less bumpy and with more grip."

Dovizioso, whose only other front-row start this season came in France where he started in third place, was 10th at the Indianapolis Grand Prix a year ago.

The Italian's highest finish at the venue came in 2012, when he took third.

Lorenzo, the 2010 and 2012 world champion, won this event in 2009 and finished behind Marquez and Dani Pedrosa a year ago in a one-two-three finish for Spanish riders. 

Final Qualifying positions:

1 Marc Marquez (Spa) Honda 1min 31.619secs

2 Andrea Dovizioso (Ita) Ducati 1:31.844

3 Jorge Lorenzo (Spa) Yamaha 1:32.094

4 Aleix Espargaro (Spa) Yamaha 1:32.588

5 Valentino Rossi (Ita) Yamaha 1:33.129

6 Pol Espargaro (Spa) Yamaha 1:33.753

7 Andrea Iannone (Ita) Ducati 1:34.388

8 Dani Pedrosa (Spa) Honda 0:01:35.100

9 Bradley Smith (Gbr) Yamaha 1:35.824

10 Stefan Bradl (Ger) Honda 1:36.719

  • Share:

Most Popular


On Goals on Sunday...

On Goals on Sunday...

We dissect the goals and analyse the talking points.

Tyler's stats and facts

Tyler's stats and facts

Who has the most Premier League goals without scoring with his head? Martin Tyler knows...

'Don't ruin the party'

'Don't ruin the party'

The Ally Pally atmosphere will be in full swing - Adrian Lewis hopes the Christmas spirit isn't spoiled.