GAA: Mayo face Galway in Sunday's Connacht SFC final at McHale Park

Last Updated: 13/07/14 1:35pm

  • Share:
Galway forward Paul Conroy is tackled by Lee Keegan and Colm Boyle during last year's meeting in Salthill

Galway forward Paul Conroy is tackled by Lee Keegan and Colm Boyle during last year's meeting in Salthill

Sky Bet

Mayo will attempt to win their fourth successive Connacht title when they face old rivals Galway at McHale Park on Sunday.

The Westerners have been the dominant force in the west and cruised to last year’s provincial crown, winning all three games by an average of 15 points.

Mayo’s recent run of success has seen them eclipse the Tribesmen’s record of Connacht Championship titles and they will lift the Nestor Cup for a 46th time if they win in Castlebar.

Manager James Horan has made four changes to the team that narrowly defeated Roscommon in last month’s semi-final.

Chris Barrett will make his first competitive start since last year’s All-Ireland final defeat to Dublin. The Belmullet clubman replaces the injured Tom Cunniffe, who is suffering from an Achilles injury.


Mayo v Galway
Sunday, 2pm

Captain Andy Moran and Alan Dillon are restored to the starting 15 after impressing off the bench in last month’s semi-final win over Roscommon. The pair are named in the full-forward line instead of Alan Freeman and Diarmuid O’Connor.

The final change sees the fit-again Barry Moran start in midfield. Aidan O’Shea moves to centre half-forward with brother Conor missing out.

Galway welcome back captain Paul Conroy for their first provincial final meeting with Mayo since 2009. The St James’ clubman missed the win over London with a foot injury but came off the bench in their semi-final success over Sligo.

Conroy starts at corner-forward in place of Michael Martin, while Joss Moore replaces Aonghus Tierney at corner-back.

Mayo were comprehensive 4-16 to 0-11 winners when the sides met in Salthill in last year's Connacht Championship, while Galway’s last win over their neighbours came in the 2008 provincial final.

Mayo: R Hennelly; C Barrett, G Cafferkey, K Higgins; L Keegan, C Boyle, D Vaughan; S O’Shea, B Moran; K McLoughlin, A O’Shea, J Doherty; C O’Connor, A Moran, A Dillon.

Galway: M Breathnach; D O'Neill, F Hanley, J Moore; G Bradshaw, G O'Donnell, P Varley; F O'Curraoin, T Flynn; M Lundy, S Walsh, D Comer; P Conroy, E Hoare, D Cummins.

  • Share:


Most Popular


Cricket Podcast: T3 D4

Cricket Podcast: T3 D4

Andrew Strauss discusses Cook's return to form and David Saker reflects on a fine day for England.

On Ringside Special...

On Ringside Special...

A special show is the Real Deal this week as Evander Holyfield looks back on his brilliant career.

Sky Sports Horses

Sky Sports Horses

Find out more about Sky Sports' increased coverage of equestrian events and how you can get involved.