Tour de San Luis: Giacomo Nizzolo wins stage three as Phillip Gaimon retains overall lead

Last Updated: 22/01/14 10:21pm

  • Share:
Giacomo Nizzolo sprinted to victory in Juana Koslay

Giacomo Nizzolo sprinted to victory in Juana Koslay

Sky Bet

Giacomo Nizzolo sprinted to victory on stage three of the Tour de San Luis in Argentina as Phillip Gaimon retained the overall race lead.

Nizzolo (Trek Factory Racing) timed his burst for the line in Juana Koslay perfectly to beat Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) into second and Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) into third.

Gaimon (Garmin-Sharp) finished safely in the peloton to consolidate his 1min 47sec lead in the general classification over Marc de Maar (UnitedHealthcare), who was tenth on the day.

Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) crossed the line in 13th place after appearing to lead out team-mate Boonen and then pull aside.

Bunch finish

Fellow Briton Adam Yates (Orica-GreenEdge) finished 65th to maintain his place at the top of the best young rider classification and 19th overall.

The 175.8km stage started in Tilisarao and saw five men break away from the peloton and build up a maximum lead of around five minutes.

However, searing temperatures and high winds with around 65km to go slowed their progress significantly and they were all swallowed back up 55km from home.

The same gusts temporarily caused splits in the main bunch, but it later reformed and a second breakaway of four riders subsequently moved clear and opened up a small gap.

Two riders fell away, but 2013 race winner Daniel Diaz (San Luis Somos Todos) and Marco Marcato (Cannondale) ploughed on and were only hauled back with 8km to go.

That paved the way for a bunch finish and 24-year-old Italian Nizzolo proved too strong for his rivals as Trek celebrated their second successive stage win following Julian Arrendondo's victory on Tuesday.

Stage three result

1 Giacomo Nizzolo (Swi) Trek Factory Racing, 4:14:19
2 Francisco Ventoso (Spa) Movistar, same time
3 Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, st
4 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Sharp, st
5 Davide Appollonio (Ita) Ag2r-La Mondiale, st
6 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale, st
7 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC, st
8 Juan Esteban Arango (Col) Colombia, st
9 Edwin Avila (Col) Colombia, st
Selected others 13 Mark Cavendish (GB) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, st
54 Phillip Gaimon (USA) Garmin-Sharp, st

General classification

1 Phillip Gaimon (USA) Garmin-Sharp, 12:34:53
2 Marc de Maar (Cur) UnitedHealthcare, +1:47
3 Christian Meier (Can) Orica-GreenEdge, +3:56
4 Peter Stetina (USA) BMC, +4:16
5 Julian Arredondo (Col) Trek Factory Racing, same time
6 Darwin Atapuma (Col) BMC, +4:19
7 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar, st
8 Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Trek Factory Racing, +4:21
9 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2r-La Mondiale, st
10 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Orica-GreenEdge, st
Selected others
19 Adam Yates (GB) Orica-GreenEdge, +4:47

  • Share:


Tour de San Luis 2014

Adriano Malori won the stage by less than three seconds

Malori wins San Luis TT

Adriano Malori won stage five of the Tour de San Luis as Nairo Quintana claimed the overall lead.

Nairo Quintana won the stage by 50 seconds

Quintana climbs to solo win

Nairo Quintana climbed to a solo victory on stage four of the Tour de San Luis in Argentina.

Julian Arredondo: Outsprinted Peter Stetina to claim victory

Arredondo climbs to victory

Colombia's Julian Arredondo climbed to victory on stage two of the Tour de San Luis in Argentina.

Most Popular


Ultimate midfielder

Ultimate midfielder

Better than Steven Gerrard? How Frank Lampard turned himself into the ultimate midfielder.

Play-off guide

Play-off guide

Peter Beagrie's Championship verdict as Middlesbrough and Norwich eye the Premier League.

Xavi in tributes

Xavi in tributes

As Barcelona legend Xavi announces his departure, we look at his tributes over the years.