Alastair Cook and James Anderson nominated for ICC Player of the Year award

Last Updated: 03/12/13 2:31pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

England's Alastair Cook and James Anderson have been nominated for the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award.

Australia captain Michael Clarke - who the pair will face in this week's second Ashes Test in Adelaide - South Africa's Hashim Amla, India captain MS Dhoni and Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara are also nominated for the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.

Anderson, Amla and Clarke are also nominated for the Test Cricketer of the Year alongside Dale Steyn of South Africa and the Indian duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Cheteshwar Pujara.

Both Sangakkara and Dhoni also feature in the shortlist for the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year, which also includes the Pakistan duo of Saeed Ajmal and Misbah ul-Haq, as well as the Indian pair of Shikhar Dhawan and Ravindra Jadeja.

England batsman Joe Root has been nominated in the The ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year shortlist alongside New Zealand's Trent Boult, India's Cheteshwar Pujara and Mitchell Starc of Australia.

The Twenty20 International (T20I) Performance of the year sees Sri Lanka spinner Ajantha Mendis being shortlisted alongside Pakistan fast bowler Umar Gul and New Zealand batsmen Martin Guptill and Brendon McCullum.

Edwards, Shrubsole nominated

England pair of Charlotte Edwards and Anya Shrubsole are nominated in the Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year alongside last year's winner Stafanie Taylor, New Zealand captain Suzie Bates, Australia's Meg Lanning, South Africa's and Dane van Niekerk.

England's Sarah Taylor Taylor, Bates and Lanning also feature in the short-list for the ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year, along with West Indies duo of Shanel Daley and Deandra Dottin.

Ireland's Kevin O'Brien and Ed Joyce, Scotland's Kyle Coetzer of Scotland and Nawroz Mangal of Afghanistan are the nominees in the ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year award.

The ICC selection panel was chaired by former India captain and current chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee Anil Kumble. The panel also includes Alec Stewart, Catherine Campbell of New Zealand, Waqar Younis of Pakistan and Graeme Pollock of South Africa.

England's Graeme Swann was named in the Test team of the year along with Anderson and Cook.

Alastair Cook (Eng, captain)

Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind)

Hashim Amla (SA)

Michael Clarke (Aus)

Michael Hussey (Aus)

AB de Villiers (SA)

MS Dhoni (Ind - Wicketkeeper)

Graeme Swann (Eng)

Dale Steyn (SA)

James Anderson (Eng)

Vernon Philander (SA)

12th Man: Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)

The one-day team of the year is:

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)

Shikhar Dhawan (Ind)

Hashim Amla (SA)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

AB de Villiers (SA)

MS Dhoni (Ind, captain and wicketkeeper)

Ravindra Jadeja (Ind)

Saeed Ajmal (Pak)

Mitchell Starc (Aus)

James Anderson (Eng)

Lasith Malinga (SL)

12th Man: Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ)

Watch the second Ashes Test between Australia and England from Adelaide - coverage starts on Wednesday at 11pm on Sky Sports 2

  • Share:

Post Comment

*All fields required, your email address will be kept private


Related Profiles

Most Popular


Broncos buckled

Broncos buckled

The Seahawks' staying power, the Lions' defence and Tony Romo caught Neil Reynolds' eye...

On Ringside Special...

On Ringside Special...

We put Kellie Maloney under the spotlight in an honest, emotional and unique look at the big story.

Good Week/Bad Week

Good Week/Bad Week

We take a look back at the past seven days and pick out the heroes and zeroes in the sporting world.