Rugby League World Cup preview: Australia v USA

By Sam Drury - Follow on Twitter.   Last Updated: 16/11/13 3:07pm

  • Share:
Robbie Farah: Has been left out of the Australia squad for the quarter-final clash with the USA

Robbie Farah: Has been left out of the Australia squad for the quarter-final clash with the USA

Sky Bet

Tournament favourites Australia meet the USA in Saturday's World Cup quarter-final in Wrexham with the nine-time champions expected to record a big win.

The Kangaroos won all three of their group games to reach this stage and anything but a comfortable victory for them would be seen as a big shock.

By contrast, the Americans have arguably exceeded expectations in winning two of their three group stage matches to make the last eight.

Reserve hooker Robbie Farah has been dropped by Australia for the clash. The Wests Tigers captain was on the bench for all three group matches but has not been named in coach Tim Sheens' 20-man squad to face the Tomahawks.

It points to half-back Daly Cherry-Evans taking his spot on the bench after impressing in the last two matches, culminating in a man-of-the-match display in Australia's 50-0 win over Ireland in Limerick last Saturday.

Centres Josh Morris and Michael Jennings are the others to miss out, with Sheens opting for an extended squad as cover for several injury concerns.


Back-row forward Mark Cantoni is set to make his World Cup debut for the USA, just a month after breaking his arm.

Cantoni, 34, who is on annual leave from his surveying job in Queensland, was shattered as he suffered the injury in the USA's warm-up match against France in Toulouse.

However, coach Terry Matterson stuck by the veteran second rower back and has included him in his 19-man squad.

Australia: G Bird, D Boyd, D Cherry-Evans, B Cordner, C Cronk, P Gallen, A Fifita, J Hayne, G Inglis, B Morris, N Myles, J Papalii, C Parker, M Scott, B Slater, C Smith (capt), J Tamou, B Tate, S Thaiday, J Thurston.

USA: M Cantoni, B Faraimo, K Freed, M Garvey, R Hifo, D Howard, S Howard, J Luani, C Newton, M Offerdahl, J Paulo (capt), M Petersen, E Pettybourne, C Priestly, T Samoa, M Shipway, L Soloai, L Tagaloa, T Welch.

  • Share: