France make eight changes for final Test against All Blacks in New Plymouth

Last Updated: 21/06/13 10:24am

  • Share:
Jean Marc Doussain: During training this week

Jean Marc Doussain: During training this week

Sky Bet

France have made eight changes for the third and final Test against New Zealand in New Plymouth on Saturday.

The tourists are already 2-0 down, with coach Saint-Andre opting to field an inexperienced side.

France will field a new half-back combination for the third time in the series, as he pairs Jean-Marc Doussain at scrum-half and Remi Tales at fly.

Alexandre Flanquart will start at lock in only his second Test, while Antonie Claasen makes his fourth appearance.

Backs Marc Andreu and Brice Dulin replace Maxime Medard and Adrien Plante respectively as France - who finished last in this year's Six Nations' Championship - aim to improve on last weekend's 30-0 drubbing.

Saint-Andre said: "It's the first time since 1968 we have played three tests consecutively against the best team in the world.

"For this week we bring a lot of guys with few caps and the All Blacks bring back a few guys with many caps.

"It will be a fantastic challenge for our players. They need to have a go, they need not to be scared to play."

Fly-half Dan Carter returns to New Zealand's starting line-up for his first Test match of the season.

He missed the first and second Tests with a broken hand, adding to a season disrupted by injury and the birth of his first child.

Carter needs just 15 points to become the first player in Test rugby to surpass 1,400 points.

New Zealand: Israel Dagg, Ben Smith, Conrad Smith, Ma'a Nonu, Rene Ranger, Dan Carter, Piri Weepu, Kieran Read (c), Sam Cane, Victor Vito, Luke Romano, Sam Whitelock, Owen Franks, Andrew Hore, Wyatt Crockett

Replacements: Keven Mealamu, Tony Woodcock, Ben Franks, Matt Todd, Steven Luatua, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Beauden Barrett, Charles Piutau

France: Brice Dulin, Marc Andreu, Florian Fritz, Wesley Fofana, Yoann Huget, Remi Tales, Jean Marc Doussain, Antonie Claassen, Damien Chouly, Thierry Dusautoir (c), Yoann Maestri, Alexandre Flanquart, Nicolas Mas, Benjamin Kayser, Thomas Domingo

Replacements: Dimitri Szarzewski, Eddy Ben Arous, Luc Ducalcon, Sebastien Vahaamahina, Bernard Le Roux, Maxime Machenaud, Camille Lopez, Mathieu Bastareaud

  • Share: