Champions trophy: West Indies keeper Denesh Ramdin suspended for falsely claiming catch
Last Updated: 10/06/13 7:49pm
West Indies celebrate Pakistan captain Misbah's 'dismissal'
West Indies' Denesh Ramdin has been banned for two matches for falsely claiming a catch against Pakistan.
The wicket-keeper celebrated the apparent dismissal of Misbah-ul-Haq during Friday's Champions Trophy contest only for replays to show he had spilled the ball.
Ramdin was subsequently charged by the International Cricket Council, whose match referee Chris Broad has found him guilty of a Level Two breach of its Code of Conduct.
Broad said: "This is regarded as a serious offence as it is the responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game.
"I hope Mr Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future."
Ramdin, who pleaded not guilty, has also been fined his entire match fee and has 24 hours to lodge an appeal.
West indies are due to continue their Champions Trophy campaign against India on Tuesday.