West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin contests ICC misconduct charge

Last Updated: 08/06/13 11:32am

  • Share:
West Indies celebrate before Misbah is called back after review

West Indies celebrate before Misbah is called back after review

Sky Bet

West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has been charged with misconduct after his dubious claim for a catch in Friday's win over Pakistan.

Ramdin claimed he had taken a clean catch to dismiss Misbah-ul-Haq off Kemar Roach before the Pakistan captain had scored in the ICC Champions Trophy encounter at The Oval.

Australian umpire Steve Davis upheld the on-field appeal, but square-leg umpire Nigel Llong persuaded Davis to refer the decision to third umpire Tony Hill.

Replays revealed that Ramdin had initially caught the ball but allowed it to hit the ground before he had full control.

Misbah was subsequently reprieved and went on to hammer a blistering 96 out of his side's 170 all out, although it was not enough to prevent the Windies from snatching a two-wicket victory.

The ICC confirmed Ramdin has been charged with a level two breach of the ICC Code of Conduct which relates to "conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game."

But Ramdin has contested the charge, and he now faces an ICC hearing into the incident in London on Monday.

If the charge is proven, Ramdin could face a suspension of up to two matches and be fined either all, or half of his match fee.

Misbah was highly critical of Ramdin after the match, saying: "I don't think I would be happy if my wicketkeeper did that.

"If you don't know if it is (a catch) then fine, but if you know it's not a catch you should not claim it because it's not in the spirit of the game."

But Windies captain Dwayne Bravo added: "Denesh thought he honestly had control of the ball. He is a very honest player."

  • Share:

Post Comment

*All fields required, your email address will be kept private

Related

ICC Champions Trophy 2013

Dhoni: the India skipper cuts an impressive figure, says Bob

Bowled over

India's batsmen have run riot so far, but Bob Willis says it won't be so easy against England's attack.

Jonathan Trott: Happy to be at home

Trott happy at home

Jonathan Trott will be a happy man when he walks out on his home turf at Edgbaston in the Champions Trophy final.

Ishant Sharma: High praise for India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Ishant hails Dhoni leadership

Ishant Sharma says Mahendra Singh Dhoni should take the credit for steering India to the final of the Champions Trophy.

Most Popular

Features

Hoddle: Arsenal must strengthen

Hoddle: Arsenal must strengthen

Glenn Hoddle says Arsenal need to sign another defensive player to challenge for trophies.

Beefy hails Hales

Beefy hails Hales

Sir Ian Botham backs Alex Hales to make a huge impact in England's five-match ODI series with India

US Open preview

US Open preview

Tim Clement offers up his in-depth preview of the US Open and reveals who he is backing.