Pakistan captain Misbah ul-Haq slam Denesh Ramdin over catch claim at Oval

Last Updated: 08/06/13 9:42am

  • Share:

The West Indies have beaten Pakistan by 2 wickets in their opening game of the ICC Champions Trophy at the Oval

Sky Bet

Misbah ul-Haq hit out at West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin for wrongly claiming a catch during Pakistan's narrow Champions Trophy defeat at the Oval.

Misbah scored a fine 96no - his best ODI score - but before he had got off the mark Ramdin claimed a catch off the Pakistan captain's inside edge from Kemar Roach's delivery.

Umpire Steve Davis gave Misbah out, but after consulting with square leg umpire Nigel Long he decided to refer the decision to the third umpire.

Replays showed that Ramdin dropped the ball after diving before scooping it up and appealing for the wicket.

"If you don't know if it is (a catch) then fine, but if you know it's not a catch you shouldn't claim it because it's not in the spirit of the game."
Misbah-ul-Haq

Misbah said: "What can I say about that? He should have told (the umpire) what happened. I don't know what he was thinking at that time. I don't think I would be happy if my wicketkeeper did that.

"If you don't know if it is (a catch) then fine, but if you know it's not a catch you shouldn't claim it because it's not in the spirit of the game."

'Honest player'

West Indies captain Dwayne Bravo defended his keeper, insisting he genuinely thought the ball had not touched the ground.

"Denesh thought he honestly had control of the ball," the all-rounder said. "He is very honest player and history shows that we as a country don't have any stigma of negativity around us.

"We play the game in the right way. I don't see anything wrong with it."

Pakistan went down by two wickets after being bowled out for 170, a total Misbah admitted was well below par on a decent pitch.

Roach's third-wicket burst reduced Pakistan to 15-3 and it was down to Misbah that Pakistan had a total to defend at all.

Pakistan now need to win their final two games against India and South Africa to stand any chance of advancing from Group B to the knockout stages, but Misbah is sure his team can do it.

"It is possible. We have seen it happen so many times before," the Pakistan captain said.

"We just need to be a bit more responsible with our batting. We should have got 230 or 240 here. That would have been a good total.

"Even 15 or 20 runs could have made the difference. There is nothing to be worried about. We just need to score those extra runs."

  • Share:

Post Comment

*All fields required, your email address will be kept private

Related

ICC Champions Trophy 2013

Dhoni: the India skipper cuts an impressive figure, says Bob

Bowled over

India's batsmen have run riot so far, but Bob Willis says it won't be so easy against England's attack.

Jonathan Trott: Happy to be at home

Trott happy at home

Jonathan Trott will be a happy man when he walks out on his home turf at Edgbaston in the Champions Trophy final.

Ishant Sharma: High praise for India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Ishant hails Dhoni leadership

Ishant Sharma says Mahendra Singh Dhoni should take the credit for steering India to the final of the Champions Trophy.

Most Popular

Features

Redknapp: No chance for Liverpool

Redknapp: No chance for Liverpool

Jamie Redknapp says Liverpool can't realistically hope to win the Premier League this season.

Ryder Cup Countdown

Ryder Cup Countdown

Sam Torrance, Colin Montgomerie, Butch Harmon and Tony Jacklin preview the big showdown.

Carragher: Which Blues are best?

Carragher: Which Blues are best?

Jamie Carragher reveals which Man City wizard and which Chelsea talisman he would have in his team.