Scotland select nine uncapped players for quadrangular international tournament in South Africa

Last Updated: 07/05/13 12:00pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

Scotland have selected nine uncapped players for June's quadrangular international tournament in South Africa.

Glasgow sextet Pat MacArthur, Tim Swinson, Alex Dunbar, Peter Horne, Peter Murchie and Tommy Seymour, Edinburgh duo Steven Lawrie and Greig Tonks and Duncan Taylor of Saracens have all been called up.

Scotland will face Samoa in Durban on 8 June before travelling to Nelspruit to face South Africa seven days later. They conclude their tour against Italy in Pretoria on 22 June.

The squad will convene on 27 May for a three-day training camp in Perthshire and the Highlands before flying out to South Africa on 31 May.


Scotland director of rugby Scott Johnson said: "First up, it's a strong squad designed to win Test matches against quality opposition.

"We've continued to monitor the players' form closely and we've been pleased that Glasgow have reached the knockout stages of the PRO12.

"We are taking the opportunity to have a look at some players and want to assess what they're like at this level. We need to be able to find out whether players who've done the business for their clubs can replicate that form in international footy.

"We also want to enable certain players who are known to us - for example Nick De Luca and Max Evans - to have the sort of off-season physical preparation that they've not had for a few years because of the demands of touring schedules."

Scotland - Backs: A Dunbar (Glasgow), T Heathcote (Bath), P Horne, R Jackson (both Glasgow), G Laidlaw (Edinburgh), S Lamont, P Murchie, H Pyrgos (all Glasgow), M Scott (Edinburgh), T Seymour (Glasgow), D Taylor (Saracens), G Tonk, T Visser (both Edinburgh).
Forwards: J Barclay (Glasgow), J Beattie (Montpellier), K Brown (Saracens, capt), G Cross, D Denton (both Edinburgh), A Dickinson (Sale), R Ford, G Gilchrist (both Edinburgh), R Grant (Glasgow), J Hamilton (Gloucester), A Kellock (Glasgow), S Lawrie (Edinburgh), M Low, P MacArthur (both Glasgow), E Murray (Worcester), A Strokosch (Perpignan), T Swinson, R Wilson (both Glasgow).

  • Share:


Most Popular


Best centre-back?

Best centre-back?

Terry, Kompany, Koscielny, Skrtel? Who is the best central defender in the Premier League?

NZ's Road to the final

NZ's Road to the final

New Zealand have swept all before them en route to their first ever World Cup final – here's how.

Premier League-bound?

Premier League-bound?

Ronaldo and Bale to the Premier League? We look at this summer's biggest potential transfers.