Nathan Coulter-Nile and Mitchell Marsh win ICC Champions Trophy call-ups

Last Updated: 01/05/13 9:40am

  • Share:
Nathan Coulter-Nile: First call-up to the Australia 50-over squad

Nathan Coulter-Nile: First call-up to the Australia 50-over squad

Sky Bet

Western Australia stars Nathan Coulter-Nile and Mitchell Marsh are the only new faces in Australia's Champions Trophy squad.

The selectors have largely stuck with experience for the tournament in England, which precedes the Ashes.

Australia, who have won the last two Champions Trophy titles, will be captained by Michael Clarke with T20 skipper and current Hampshire batsman George Bailey named as his No 2.

All-rounder Coulter-Nile, 25, has won his first call to the 50-over squad thanks to some explosive performances in the domestic Ryobi Cup.

Batsmen Marsh, 21, has struggled with injuries but made the squad for the first time in a year thanks to some superb domestic performances, unlike his brother Shaun who was beaten to the last batting spot by Adam Voges.

Ben Cutting, Steve Smith, Aaron Finch and Moises Henriques were the players dropped since the last one-day series.

James Pattinson and Ryan Harris, considered the spearheads of the Test pace attack, will not play and will be in the Australia A squad to prepare them for the Ashes.

Chief selector John Inverarity said: "Coulter-Nile is an emerging cricketer as a fast-medium bowler and explosive lower-order batsman.

"He is also one of the finest fieldsmen in Australian cricket and the energy he brings to his game is impressive. While Nathan has played a T20 International for Australia, we are looking forward to seeing him take his very good domestic limited overs form onto the world stage."

Selectors also expect injured fast bowlers Mitchell Starc and Clint McKay to be fit.

"Mitchell Starc and Clint McKay are recovering well from injury and are meeting targets that should ensure their readiness for the tournament. Starc showed his ability with the white ball with two devastating spells in Perth last summer while McKay is Australia's reigning ODI player of the year," Inverarity said.

"Both players are integral to our plans and along with Mitchell Johnson, form the core of the limited-overs bowling group."

Australia have been drawn to play England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka in the group stages and plays their first match against England on June 8 at Edgbaston.

Australia Champions Trophy 15-man squad: Michael Clarke (c), George Bailey (vc), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Phillip Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Clint McKay, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson

  • Share:


ICC Champions Trophy 2013

Dhoni: the India skipper cuts an impressive figure, says Bob

Bowled over

India's batsmen have run riot so far, but Bob Willis says it won't be so easy against England's attack.

Jonathan Trott: Happy to be at home

Trott happy at home

Jonathan Trott will be a happy man when he walks out on his home turf at Edgbaston in the Champions Trophy final.

Ishant Sharma: High praise for India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Ishant hails Dhoni leadership

Ishant Sharma says Mahendra Singh Dhoni should take the credit for steering India to the final of the Champions Trophy.

Related Profiles

Most Popular


Rod: The Power is back on

Rod: The Power is back on

Rod Harrington says Phil Taylor's nine-darter proves he is once again the man to beat in Blackpool.

He will be GGGreat

He will be GGGreat

Tony Bellew and Jamie Moore will be in the studio as Gennady Golovkin fights Daniel Geale on Sky Sports.

Is Tyson still furious?

Is Tyson still furious?

Tyson Fury has at least got a fight on Saturday, but will he be fully focused? Johnny Nelson hopes so...