Heineken Cup semi-final match preview: Clermont v Munster

Last Updated: 27/04/13 4:00pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

Clermont have made three changes to their squad for Saturday's Heineken Cup semi-final against Munster at the Stade de la Mosson.

The French club are the only semi-finalists to boast a 100 per-cent record this season as they look for a third European title.

In contrast to the Top 14 league leaders, the Heineken Cup is a final hope of silverware this season for Munster who just missed out on the RaboDirect Pro12 play-offs.

Clermont coach Vern Cotter welcomes Brock James into the side at fly-half in place of the ineligible Mike Delany.

All Black Reegan King comes in at outside centre with Aurelien Rougerie left out of the match-day squad.

Final change

Cotter's final change to the side which ran four tries past Toulouse last week sees Julien Bardy come off the bench to replace Gerhard Vosloo at flanker.

Meanwhile Rob Penney has named just one change to the Munster starting XV which beat Harlequins to book a place in the final four.

The fit again Keith Earls returns to the right wing with Denis Hurley demoted to the bench for the trip to the south of France.

Earls will play his first competitive match since January after spending the three months out with injury.

Munster are without the injured Stephen Archer and Donncha O'Callaghan meaning John Ryan and Billy Holland get the nod on the bench.

Clermont:15 Lee Byrne, 14 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 13 Regan King, 12 Wesley Fofana, 11 Naipolioni Nalaga, 10 Brock James, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Damien Chouly, 7 Julien Bardy, 6 Julien Bonnaire, 5 Nathan Hines, 4 Jamie Cudmore, 3 Davit Zirakashvili, 2 Benjamin Kayser, 1 Thomas Domingo.
Replacements: 16 Ti'i Paulo, 17 Vincent Debaty, 18 Clement Ric, 19 Julien Pierre, 20 Alexandre Lapandry, 21 Ludovic Radosavljevic, 22 Jean Marcel Buttin, 23 Noa Nakaitaci or David Skrela.

Munster: 15 Felix Jones, 14 Keith Earls, 13 Casey Laulala, 12 James Downey, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Ronan O'Gara, 9 Conor Murray, 8 James Coughlan, 7 Tommy O'Donnell, 6 Peter O'Mahony, 5 Paul O'Connell (capt), 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 BJ Botha, 2 Mike Sherry, 1 David Kilcoyne.
Replacements: 16 Damien Varley, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 John Ryan, 19 Billy Holland, 20 Paddy Butler, 21 Cathal Sheridan, 22 Ian Keatley, 23 Denis Hurley.

  • Share:


Heineken Cup semi-final 2012/13

Mark McCall: Proud of the progress made by his Saracens side

Saracens coach proud in defeat

Saracens head coach Mark McCall praised his side's progress over the last season following their defeat to Toulon.

Jonny Wilkinson is mobbed by team-mates after scoring a crucial drop-goal

Twickenham win thrills Jonny

Toulon fly-half Jonny Wilkinson was understandably delighted after they reached the final of the Heineken Cup.

Jonny Wilkinson: scored all of Toulon's 24 points

Wilkinson kicks out Saracens

Jonny Wilkinson kicked Toulon to their first Heineken Cup final with a flawless display in a 24-12 win over Saracens.

Most Popular


Bumble's Blog

Bumble's Blog

David Lloyd shares a bite with Bangladesh and dines out on two days of superb fishing and biking...

Sleeping Sky Blue giant

Sleeping Sky Blue giant

Rob Dorsett talks to Tony Mowbray about taking the Coventry City job and how he hopes to get the Sky Blues back to where they belong.

Kate Cross blog

Kate Cross blog

The fast bowler reflects on her first 'Michelle', re-doubles her celebrations and, er, meets Kathy Cross...