IPL: Delhi Daredevils beat Mumbai Indians by nine wickets

Last Updated: 21/04/13 4:08pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

A whirlwind 95 not out from Virender Sehwag powered the Delhi Daredevils to their first triumph of the 2013 Indian Premier League.

The veteran opener smashed two sixes and 13 fours in 57 balls at the Feroz Shah Kotla as Delhi beat Mumbai Indians by a resounding nine wickets.

Batting first, Mumbai posted 161-4 in their 20 overs, with Rohit Sharma top-scoring with 73 off just 43 balls, including five sixes and five fours.

Sachin Tendulkar also waded in with 54 from 47 balls, including two sixes and three fours.

Umesh Yadav was the pick of Delhi's bowlers, taking 2-31 from his four overs.

In response, Sehwag and Mahela Jayawardene put on a magnificent 151 for Delhi's first wicket.

Jayawardene was eventually bowled by Lasith Malinga for 59 off 43 balls, including one six and eight fours.

But Sehwag, assisted by David Warner, guided Delhi to victory in 17 overs.

  • Share:


Indian Premier League 2013

Dwayne Smith: Hit 62 as Mumbai won with a ball to spare

Smith guides Mumbai to victory

Dwayne Smith hit a half century as Mumbai Indians beat Rajasthan Royals with a ball to spare to reach the IPL final.

Brad Hodge: Rajasthan Royals batsman steered side to victory in final over

Royals knock out Sunrisers

Brad Hodge blasted Rajasthan Royals to a four-wicket win over Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL play-off eliminator.

Mike Hussey (L) and Suresh Raina (R) starred with the bat for Chennai

Chennai back in final again

The Chennai Super Kings beat the Mumbai Indians by 48 runs to progress to their fifth IPL final in six years.

Most Popular


Back to their best

Back to their best

Sir Ian Botham says England have ‘turned the corner’ after they ended their 11-Test wait for a win on Thursday.

Barrie v Terry

Barrie v Terry

Barrie McDermott and Terry O'Connor go head-to-head with their Super League predictions...

Walker: Celtic 'shocking'

Walker: Celtic 'shocking'

Ronny Deila’s hopes of winning over the club’s fans took a big blow in Poland, says Andy Walker.