Great Britain squad named for World Championships

Last Updated: 09/04/13 9:15am

  • Share:
Great Britain stars celebrating scoring a goal

Great Britain stars celebrating scoring a goal

Sky Bet

Forwards Ben Davies and Aaron Nell are set to make their senior Great Britain debuts in the World Championships in Hungary next week after being named in coach Tony Hand's 22-man squad.

Davies' fine form helped the Cardiff Devils continue their remarkable record of reaching the play-offs finals in every season of the Elite League era before they lost to eventual winners Nottingham Panthers on Saturday.

Nell has registered more than 100 points for Swindon Wildcats, for whom he is captain, in the English Premier League this season.

Defenceman Luke Boothroyd, who lifted the EPL play-off trophy after leading Manchester Phoenix to victory over Guildford Flames on Sunday, returns to the squad for the first time since 2008.

Hand has made two other changes to the party which missed out on qualification to the 2014 Winter Olympics in Latvia in February.

Belfast Giants netminder Stephen Murphy, named his side's man of the match in their 3-2 overtime play-off final defeat to Nottingham, and Jonathan Weaver, who scored for the Panthers in the showpiece, return after injury forced them to miss out in Riga.

Giants forward Mark Garside is injured and blue-liner Ben O'Connor has club commitments in Kazakhstan, while Sheffield Steelers pair Rod Sarich and Jason Hewitt miss out.

GB will have a three-day training camp before heading out on Friday for the six-team tournament, held in Budapest from April 14-20.

They begin their quest for promotion to the top flight against the hosts on Sunday before games against Kazakhstan, Italy, Japan and Korea.

Squad - Netminders: S Murphy (Belfast), B Bowns (Hull); Defencemen: L Boothroyd (Manchester), S Lee (Nottingham), D Meyers (Sheffield), D Phillips (Belfast), M Richardson (Cardiff), M Thomas (Sheffield), J Weaver (Nottingham); Forwards: D Clarke (Nottingham), B Davies (Cardiff), R Dowd (Troja Ljungby), R Farmer (Braehead), P Hill (Cardiff), R Lachowicz (Nottingham), M Myers (Nottingham), A Nell (Swindon), G Owen (Basingstoke), C Peacock (Belfast), J Phillips (Sheffield), C Shields (Belfast), A Tait (Sheffield).

  • Share: