Mark Gillespie, Martin Guptill and Daniel Vettori to tour England with New Zealand

Last Updated: 05/04/13 2:52pm

  • Share:
Martin Guptill: Batsman added to New Zealand squad for tour of England

Martin Guptill: Batsman added to New Zealand squad for tour of England

Sky Bet

New Zealand have added fast bowler Mark Gillespie and batsman Martin Guptill to their Test squad for the tour of England that starts next month.

The squad is otherwise unchanged from the group that claimed three draws with England in their recent home Test series.

Former captain Daniel Vettori has been named in the one-day squad for the tour - but not in the Test party - after recovering from an ankle injury that has kept him on the sidelines for eight months.

Wellington wicketkeeper Luke Ronchi, who has previously played seven internationals for Australia, has also been included in the one-day squad.

The tour begins with a three-day match against Derbyshire, starting on May 4, and the Black Caps will play two Tests, three one-day internationals, two Twenty20 games before taking part in the ICC Champions Trophy.

New Zealand national selection manager Kim Littlejohn said: "The ODI squad has a core group of players who have now played in a number of international tournaments and bring a wealth of experience.

"Having Daniel Vettori back in the side adds to that and we're really excited to have someone of his quality back in the team.

"Luke Ronchi gets his chance after impressing on the domestic scene. We know how dangerous he is and look forward to seeing him display his talents on the international stage."

Test squad: Brendon McCullum (captain), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie, Peter Fulton, Martin Guptill, Mark Gillespie, Tom Latham, Bruce Martin, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, Bradley John Watling, Kane Williamson.

ODI, Twenty20 and ICC Champions Trophy squad: Brendon McCullum (captain), Trent Boult, Grant Elliott, Andrew Ellis, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori, Kane Williamson.

  • Share: