England's Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis will defend their World Cup of Darts title in Hamburg next month

Last Updated: 16/01/13 3:34pm

  • Share:
Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis: Edged Australia in dramatic final last year

Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis: Edged Australia in dramatic final last year

Sky Bet

Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis will defend their Betfair World Cup of Darts title in the 24-team tournament in Hamburg next month.

The English pair clinched the crown last year with a dramatic sudden-death victory over Paul Nicholson and Simon Whitlock, who again team up for Australia.

England start as top seeds, but much of the focus will be on the Netherlands with World Championship runner-up Michael van Gerwen teaming up with five-time world champion Raymond van Barneveld.

Van Gerwen's rose to fourth in the PDC world rankings after he followed his World Grand Prix victory with an outstanding week at Alexandra Palace, where he lost out to Taylor in a high-quality final.

Van Gerwen replaces Vincent van der Voort as Van Barneveld's partner, while UK Open champion Robert Thornton's return to the world's top 16 earns him a place alongside Gary Anderson for Scotland.

Belgium's Kim and Ronny Huybrechts will become the first brothers to compete in the event, which starts on 1 February and is being screened exclusively live on Sky Sports.

Seeded Nations:

1 England (Phil Taylor, Adrian Lewis)

2 Netherlands (Michael van Gerwen, Raymond van Barneveld)

3 Australia (Simon Whitlock, Paul Nicholson)

4 Scotland (Gary Anderson, Robert Thornton)

5 Wales (Mark Webster, Richie Burnett)

6 Northern Ireland (Brendan Dolan, Michael Mansell)

7 Germany (Jyhan Artut, Andree Welge)

8 Republic of Ireland (William O'Connor, Connie Finnan)

Pool B:

Spain (Antonio Alcinas, Carlos Rodriguez)

Belgium (Kim Huybrechts, Ronny Huybrechts)

Canada (John Part, Jeff Smith)

Finland (Jani Haavisto, Jarkko Komula)

Austria (Mensur Suljovic, Maik Langendorf)

Croatia (Robert Marijanovic, Tonci Restovic)

Gibraltar (Dyson Parody, Dylan Duo)

Denmark (Per Laursen, Jann Hoffmann)

Pool C:

Sweden (Magnus Caris, Par Riihonen)

Philippines (Lourence Ilagan, Christian Perez)

Japan (Haruki Muramatsu, Sho Katsumi)

USA (Darin Young, Larry Butler)

South Africa (Charl Pietersen, Shawn Hogan)

New Zealand (Phil Hazel, Craig Caldwell)

Hungary (Nandor Bezzeg, Meszaros Zsolt)

Poland (Krzysztof Kciuk, Krzysztof Ratajski)

  • Share:

Most Popular


Perfect partners

Perfect partners

Sir Ian Botham praises Joe Root and Jimmy Anderson's 'tremendous' last-wicket partnership.

Extraordinary Joe

Extraordinary Joe

Joe Root’s determined resistance on day three at Trent Bridge won praise from Nasser Hussain.

Redknapp tipping Argentina

Redknapp tipping Argentina

Can a team with Javier Mascherano as midfield maestro win the World Cup? Jamie Redknapp says they might...