England duo make ICC team

Dhoni makes ODI list for fifth year in a row

Last Updated: 14/09/12 4:47pm

  • Share:
Alastair Cook: England skipper named in ICC ODI team of the year

Alastair Cook: England skipper named in ICC ODI team of the year

Sky Bet

England duo Alastair Cook and Steven Finn have been named in the International Cricket Council's ODI team of the year.

England captain Cook and fast bowler Finn are the only two Englishman named in the ICC's 50-over team of the year, with the side captained by India's wicketkeeper-batsman Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who makes the list for a fifth year in a row.

Cook was included as an opener, while paceman Finn was among a five-strong bowling attack that includes Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi.

Dhoni is joined by India team-mates Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli, while Australia captain Michael Clarke and Pakistani off-spinner Saeed Ajmal are other notable inclusions.

No England player is in contention for the main award, won by Jonathan Trott last year.

The judging panel was headed by former West Indies batsmen Clive Lloyd and also included Carl Hooper, Sri Lanka opener Marvan Attapatu, Australia all-rounder Tim Moody and England Women's captain Clare Connor.

Lloyd said: "This team, along with the Test Team of the Year was extremely difficult to decide upon but we feel the side has strength to bat well down the order while also having a good variety for any type of conditions when it comes to its bowling attack.

"It's pleasing to include for the first time the likes of Virat Kohli of India, Saeed Ajmal of Pakistan and Steven Finn of England - none of whom have appeared in an ICC ODI Team of the Year before."

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order): Gautam Gambhir (Ind), Alastair Cook (Eng), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Virat Kohli (Ind), MS Dhoni (Ind, wkt/captain) Michael Clarke (Aus), Shahid Afridi (Pak), Morne Morkel (SA), Steven Finn (Eng), Lasith Malinga (SL), Saeed Ajmal (Pak) 12th Man - Shane Watson (Aus).

  • Share: