Pair star as Windies blown out

Jayawardene and Dilshann hit unbeaten half-centuries

Last Updated: 14/09/12 12:35pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

Mahela Jayawardene and Tillakaratne Dilshan both hit unbeaten half-centuries as hosts Sri Lanka prepared for the World Twenty20 with a nine-wicket win over the West Indies on Thursday.

Skipper Jayawardene (57no) and opener Dilshan (50no) put on 103 for the second-wicket to help their team achieve a 133-run target with 26 balls to spare in a warm-up match in Colombo.

The Sri Lankan captain smashed two sixes and six fours in his 35-ball knock while Dilshan's 38-ball innings contained one six and five boundaries.

Johnson Charles (30), Darren Bravo (29) and Kieron Pollard (28no) were the main scorers for the West Indies, who rested star opener Chris Gayle.

Sri Lanka are in Group C of the preliminary league with South Africa and Zimbabwe while the West Indies are in Group B with Australia and Ireland.

Two teams from each group will advance to the Super Eights stage.

  • Share:


ICC World Twenty20 2012

Aaron Finch: Australia's new powerhouse opener

Australia team guide

Australia would cap a remarkable 12 months if they manage to justify being amongst the favourites in Bangladesh.

Marlon Samuels: West Indies' match-winner with 78 runs from 56 delieveries

Samuels looks to the future

West Indies hero Marlon Samuels believes the future of the team looks bright in the wake of their World T20 success.

West Indies: celebrate a famous win

Smiles better

The Sky Sports experts feel the West Indies' World Twenty20 win is a good moment for cricket.

Most Popular


Pick your top Sky Sports game

Pick your top Sky Sports game

Vote for the best Sky Sports Premier League game of 2013/14 – and we’ll replay the best ones on air.

Player plaudits

Player plaudits

Nasser Hussain and Sir Ian Botham reflect on England's fine individual performances in the third Test.

Cricket Podcast: T3 D5

Cricket Podcast: T3 D5

Shane Warne, Nasser Hussain and Andrew Strauss reflect on Moeen's heroics at the Ageas Bowl.