Drummond leads Scots

All-rounder to skipper Tartan Army against Canada.

Last Updated: 26/06/12 4:04pm

  • Share:
Gordon Drummond: All rounder to lead Scotland against Canada

Gordon Drummond: All rounder to lead Scotland against Canada

Sky Bet

Gordon Drummond will captain Scotland as they take on Canada in the Intercontinental Cup and World Cricket League in July.

The Tartan Army beat the United Arab Emirates in their last Intercontinental Cup match, and are now hoping to claim a win against the Canadians ahead of their World Cricket League double-header which follows the following week.

The side need to return to winning ways in the league, after defeat to the UAE in the competition in March.


Peter Steindl has named a mixture of contracted players and those that have been plying their trade in England, as the likes of Matthew Parker, Richie Berrington, Gordon Goudie, Majid Haq and Ryan Flannigan are joined by Alisdair Evans, Preston Mommsen, Josh Davey and Calum MacLeod.

Kyle Coetzer will also join the squad for the two World Cricket League matches.

The Intercontinental Cup will take place at Uddingston from 4th-7th July, before the league matches at Edinburgh's Citylets Grange on July 9th and 11th.

Drummond, who replaced Gavin Hamilton as skipper in 2010, said: "We are looking to continue where we left off in the UAE in the Intercontinental Cup, where we had a comfortable victory.

"Canada will obviously be challenging opposition, but in our conditions we are optimistic.

"Another victory would push us close to the top of the table and give us a shout at reaching the final once again.


He added: "We have a decent record against Canada at home and, with the strength and depth we have in both squads, are confident of coming out on top.

"These are obviously massive matches if we are going to reach the 2015 World Cup.

Simon Smith, Ewan Chambers and Moneeb Iqbal will be replaced by Craig Wallace, Fraser Watt and Coetzer for the World Cricket League encounters.

Scotland squad: Gordon Drummond (captain), Ryan Flannigan, Matthew Parker, Alisdair Evans, Richard Berrington, Majid Haq, Simon Smith, Gordon Goudie, Preston Mommsen, Calum MacLeod, Ewan Chalmers, Jan Stander, Moneeb Iqbal, Joshua Davey.

  • Share: