Nalbandian DQ'd from final

Nalbandian kicks out and DQ hands title to Cilic

Last Updated: 18/06/12 4:27pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

David Nalbandian was disqualified from the Queen's Club final after kicking a line judge's leg, handing the title to Marin Cilic.

Nalbandian won the first set of the AEGON Championships final against Cilic on a tie-break, but reacted angrily after being broken for the second time in the second set.

Having just lost the seventh game, Nalbandian fiercely kicked an advertising board in front of line judge Andrew McDougall's chair.

The board smacked into the line judge's shin and a caused an inch-long bloody gash.

Referee Fergus Murphy then awarded Cilic the match, and the championship, disqualifying Nalbandian for "unsportsmanlike behaviour."


The crowd booed and chanted "play on", but the decision was final and Cilic was handed the crown.

Nalbandian was apologetic for his actions, but came out fighting against the ATP as he addressed the crowd after the match.

"I am very sorry," Nalbandian told the Queen's crowd afterwards. "Sometimes you get very frustrated on court.

"Sometimes I make a mistake I agree with. It's a tough moment to end a final like that but sometimes we feel so much pressure from the ATP playing so many tournaments.

"Today I've made a mistake. Sometimes I agree and I do but everyone makes mistakes. I don't feel it had to end like that - especially in a final.


"There are a lot of rules and sometimes they don't do anything. The rule book is very big and I can tell you the ATP do a lot to the players and nothing happens."

Cilic said: "It was very bitter. It's definitely not the way I wanted to win.

"To end like this is not easy. The match was getting hot and it's tough to see the final finish like this.

"I can't change it, but I'm really sorry for the fans that it finished like this."

  • Share:


Nalbandian DQ

David Nalbandian: Complaint has been made

Police look at Nalbandian 'assault'

Police are investigating a complaint of alleged assault against David Nalbandian in the AEGON Championships final.

David Nalbandian: Could return to Queen's next season

Nalbandian could return

David Nalbandian has refused to rule out returning to Queen's despite his disqualification.

Controversy at Queen's

Controversy at Queen's

There was controversy at Queen's when David Nalbandian was disqualified after injuring a line judge.

Most Popular


Balague: Ronaldo now a striker

Balague: Ronaldo now a striker

Guillem Balague compares the changes made by Ronaldo and Messi, while saying Valencia want big money for Otamendi.

Fantasy FC tickets

Fantasy FC tickets

The Fantasy Football Club is offering you the chance to join Darren Bent on the show this Thursday.

Carra: City's squad the best

Carra: City's squad the best

Man City have the best squad in the league, says Jamie Carragher, who feels they don't need to make wholesale changes.