Hussey omitted from ODI squad

Nottinghamshire batsman loses place to left-hander Warner

Last Updated: 28/09/11 8:12am

  • Share:
Hussey: Omitted from Australia's one-day international squad after failing to take his chance against Sri Lanka

Hussey: Omitted from Australia's one-day international squad after failing to take his chance against Sri Lanka

Sky Bet

David Hussey has been overlooked for the one-day international section of Australia's upcoming tour of South Africa.

The Nottinghamshire batsman has made the squad for the two Twenty20 matches but has lost out in the ODI's to New South Wales' David Warner.

Victoria wicketkeeper Matthew Wade has been named in the squad for the two Twenty20 internationals.

Wade has been drafted in as Brad Haddin has retired from international Twenty20 matches and Tim Paine is injured. Haddin makes the ODI squad.

The injury to John Hastings has also allowed New South Wales fast bowler Patrick Cummins to claim a place in the squads for both the Twenty20 games and the three one-day internationals.

"Unfortunately David Hussey has been omitted from the one-day squad," explained National Selection Panel Chairman Andrew Hilditch.

"David was picked for Sri Lanka as we thought he would be very well suited to the conditions, being an excellent player of spin bowling and having the ability to bowl valuable overs of spin.

"We did not think that David quite took his opportunity in Sri Lanka and his place has been taken by David Warner.

Irresistible form

"David's form has been irresistible recently and he deserves this opportunity in the one-day squad."

"John Hastings is injured and Patrick Cummins has been added to the one day squad," Hilditch added. "It is an extremely exciting time in Australian cricket to see such young talent forcing its way into the Australian squads.

"We consider we have picked an extremely strong Twenty20 squad, which has a good balance of experience and exciting young talent.

"We did not think that David quite took his opportunity in Sri Lanka and his place has been taken by David Warner."
Andrew Hilditch Quotes of the week

"There is flexibility in the squad to deal with conditions in South Africa as we continue to prepare for the ICC World Twenty20, which is only a year away.

"The retirement of Brad Haddin from International Twenty20 and the injury to Tim Paine, has given a well-deserved opportunity to Matthew Wade.

"Matthew is an extremely exciting keeper batsman who is very well equipped for Twenty20 cricket and we think he will have an immediate impact on the international scene.

"John Hastings was unavailable through injury. This has given a great opportunity to Patrick Cummins to come into the Twenty20 squad.

"Patrick is a very exciting fast bowler and was one of the youngest players ever to receive an Australian contract this year. We are very confident he will succeed at international level.

"The squad also sees the addition of Mitchell Marsh, an extremely talented and exciting all-rounder."

Hilditch also went on to explain the reasons for bowler Mitchell Johnson being left out.

Johnson struggling

"Mitchell Johnson was not selected for the Twenty20 squad," he continued. "Mitchell has struggled in this format of the game to date.

"Most Twenty20 internationals have been at the start of tours and Mitchell has not always been at his best in these matches. Obviously Mitchell has a great skill set for Twenty20 cricket and we are sure he will put a lot of pressure on us to pick him in the future in the Twenty20 team.

"His place has gone to Doug Bollinger, who is very experienced in this form of the game and his consistent performances in Twenty20 cricket have led to him forcing his way into the side."

Australia begin the tour with T20 internationals in Cape Town on October 13 and Johannesburg three days later.

Centurion stages the first ODI on October 19 followed by games in Port Elizabeth (October 23) and a day-nighter in Durban (October 28).

Australia take on South Africa A in a four-day tour match from November 1 followed by Tests against South Africa in Cape Town (October 9-13) and Johannesburg (November 17-21).

Australia T20 squad: Cameron White (Vic, capt), Shane Watson (vc, NSW), Doug Bollinger (NSW), Patrick Cummins (NSW), Aaron Finch (Vic), David Hussey (Vic), Brett Lee (NSW), Mitchell Marsh (WA), Shaun Marsh (WA), Stephen O'Keefe (NSW), James Pattinson (Vic), Steven Smith (NSW), Matthew Wade (Vic), David Warner (NSW).

One-day squad: Michael Clarke (NSW, capt), Shane Watson (NSW, vc), Doug Bollinger (NSW), Patrick Cummins (NSW), Xavier Doherty (Tas), Brad Haddin (NSW), Mike Hussey (WA), Mitchell Johnson (WA), Brett Lee (NSW), Shaun Marsh (WA), James Pattinson (Vic), Ricky Ponting (Tas), Steven Smith (NSW), David Warner (NSW).

  • Share: