Italy lose their Sole

Azzurri reveal 43-man provisional World Cup squad

Last Updated: 31/05/11 4:19pm

  • Share:
Sole: Omitted from provisional World Cup squad

Sole: Omitted from provisional World Cup squad

Sky Bet

Aironi flanker Josh Sole has been left out of Italy's 43-man provisional World Cup squad, while injury concern Mauro Bergamsco is included.

New Zealand-born Sole has won a total of 47 caps for Italy and started in their opening RBS Six Nations contest with Ireland this year.

However, his time on the field has been limited by injury recently and he has paid with his place in Nick Mallett's squad.

Veteran flanker Bergamasco is still recovering from the shoulder injury that kept him out of the entire Six Nations campaign.

The Stade Francais flanker could return to action for Italy A in the Churchill Cup in June to get some valuable game-time before the World Cup starting in September.

Wing Kaine Robertson is another high-profile absentee, while Santiago Dellape was not available after announcing his retirement from international rugby.

"I am convinced that these 43 players represent the elite of the Italian rugby movement," Azzurri coach Mallett told the Italian Rugby Federation website.

Italy squad:

Forwards: Lorenzo Cittadini (Benetton Treviso), Alberto de Marchi (Aironi), Salvatore Perugini (Aironi), Tommaso D'Apice (Rome), Leonardo Ghiraldini (Benetton Treviso), Fabio Ongaro (Aironi), Andrea Lo Cicero (Racing Métro), Carlo Festuccia (Racing-Métro), Martin Castrogiovanni (Leicester), Valerio Bernabo (Benetton Treviso), Joshua Furno (Aironi), Quintin Geldenhuys (Aironi), Marco Bortolami (Aironi), Carlo Antonio del Fava (Aironi), Cornelius Van Zyl (Benetton Treviso), Robert Barbieri (Benetton Treviso), Mauro Bergamasco (Stade Français), Paul Derbyshire (Benetton Treviso), Manoa Vosawai (Benetton Treviso), Alessandro Zanni (Benetton Treviso), Sergio Parisse (Stade Francais)

Backs: Pablo Canavosio (Aironi), Fabio Semenzato (Benetton Treviso), Edoardo Gori (Treviso), Riccardo Bocchino (Aironi), Kristopher Burton (Treviso) Tommaso Benvenuti (Benetton Treviso), Gonzalo Garcia (Benetton Treviso), Luciano Orquera (Aironi), Gonzalo Canale (Clermont Auvergne), Durandt Gerber (Gran Parma), Denis Majstorovic (Prato), Luke McLean (Benetton Treviso), Gilberto Pavan (Aironi), Mirco Bergamasco (Racing-Métro), Andrea Masi (Aironi), Andrea Pratichetti (Benetton Treviso), Matteo Pratichetti (Aironi), Michele Sepe (Benetton Treviso), Alberto Sgarbi (Benetton Treviso), Giulio Toniolatti (Benetton Treviso), Ruggero Trevisan (BMP Parma)

  • Share: