Wallabies recall Turner

Cooper also back in squad for two matches in South Africa

Last Updated: 19/08/10 11:05am

  • Share:
Turner: Will travel to South Africa

Turner: Will travel to South Africa

Sky Bet

Australia have recalled winger Lachie Turner to the 28-man squad for their two Tri-Nations matches in South Africa.

SKY SPORTS ON SKY From football to fishing and everything in between, including cricket, rugby, golf and tennis - there's some amazing coverage coming up on the five Sky Sports channels. Plus, with the launch of Sky Sports News HD this summer, all five channels will soon be available in stunning high definition, only with Sky. Click here for more

Turner had recently been named in his country's squad for the sevens competition at the Commonwealth Games in October but now returns to an injury-hit Test set-up.

The Wallabies have also been boosted by the return of influential fly-half Quade Cooper, who missed his side's previous two contests through suspension.

Injuries to Peter Hynes and Cameron Shepherd mean that uncapped back-line duo Nick Cummins and Pat McCabe, who are also set to play in the sevens in Delhi, are included in the touring party.

Robbie Deans' side will leave for South Africa on Friday ahead of their clashes with the Springboks on August 28 and September 4.


"It always tough when players miss out but it became pretty clear in the end," Deans said of his squad selection.

"Essentially we finished up with the blokes who've been playing and been able to train."

Australia won their opening match with the Springboks in this year's tournament and only need to win one of the games in South Africa to regain the Mandela Trophy.

However, the Wallabies have a poor record at the two venues they will be visiting, having lost their four previous matches at Loftus Versfeld and not being able to secure a victory at Bloemfontein since 1933.

New Zealand currently lead the Tri-Nations table by a comfortable 15-point margin.

Australia squad - Forwards: Rocky Elsom (captain), Ben Daley, Benn Robinson, Salesi Ma'afu, James Slipper, Stephen Moore, Saia Faingaa, Nathan Sharpe, Dean Mumm, Rob Simmons, Mark Chisholm, Ben McCalman, David Pocock, Scott Higginbotham, Richard Brown.
Backs: Will Genia, Luke Burgess, Quade Cooper, Matt Giteau, Anthony Faingaa, Berrick Barnes, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Pat McCabe, Nick Cummins, James O'Connor, Lachie Turner, Drew Mitchell, Kurtley Beale.

  • Share: